1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Alarm issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fekish, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    113
    1
    36
    Hi,

    the last week the Alarm is not working at all. Basically my wife wakes up and as soon as i click the power of the phone to see the time it starts playing! Its like 15-25 min after the alarm time.

    It seems that it was in standby mode, and had to be waken up to start playing.

    I dont have any task killer - when i had before, i think i didnt have any issues...

    Any recommendations?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lukebr

    lukebr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Glad to hear someone else has the same problem.

    Mine is doing the exact same thing too.

    Im on OS 2.1 and if i set an alarm and my phone is NOT asleep then it will play but if the screen is dark then the alarm wont sound until i hit the power button and then the alarm starts to sound (whether its 2mins after it should have gone off or an hour later).

    I do have a task killer app running but i have added the Alarm into the ignore list so it is always running so that cant be it unless there are dependant services that get shutdown that the Alarm service needs.

    Any help would be really appreciated guys.

    Cheers
     
  3. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    54
    1
    16
  4. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    113
    1
    36
    Thanks for the link,

    so we are not alone :)

    But i dont understand how to fix it :)

    basically i dont understand : boot to the ADBRecovery and in the ADB shell use:
     
  5. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    I suggest you use the second method:

    Method 2 - via RSD Lite
    Download the custom SBF containing only the boot.img here: boot_img_from_SHOLS_U2_03.10.0.zip
    (here is the link to RSD Lite 4.6)
    Boot to Bootloader (D-pad up + power) and flash the SBF using RSD Lite.
     
  6. cdl

    cdl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #522
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    430
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    430
    48
    43
    It is a known bug. This is the official discussion in the Motorola forum:
    AlarmManager: ELAPSED_REALTIME_WAKEUP & RTC_WAKEUP won't wake up Milestone (system 2.1) - MOTODEV Discussion Boards

    Apparently, no official fix exists yet :mad:

    Motorola, hurry up and fix this!
     
  7. cdl

    cdl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #522
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    430
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    430
    48
    43
    kron4eg likes this.
  8. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    113
    1
    36
    does anyone know a link that is working to correct this, as the link seems not to be working anymore.
    Can i find somewhere else a solution?

    thanks
     
  9. kron4eg

    kron4eg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I thought I'm going crazy %)

    Thanks for the tips!
     
  10. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    This link still works:
    boot_img_from_SHOLS_U2_03.10.0.zip
     
  11. petersteier

    petersteier Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    For me, also Alarm Klock was affected. I installed the kernel patch mentioned in this thread and also at
    Alarms - scheduled CPU wake-up fixed
    and now all alarms work. Needs some musing over the RDSlite, however, if you use it the first time. E.g. dont store your image in a path containing a blank...
     
  12. petersteier

    petersteier Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    For me, also Alarm Klock was affected. I installed the kernel patch mentioned in this thread and also at
    Alarms - scheduled CPU wake-up fixed
    and now all alarms work. Needs some musing over the RDSlite, however, if you use it the first time. E.g. dont store your image in a path containing a blank...
     
  13. kumar3234

    kumar3234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    133
    8
    56
    India
    The update from Motorola MR 2.5 fixes the issue.
     
  14. Zeff

    Zeff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    The updates sure does work. My Alarm issue is solved. Thanks
     
  15. r0nan

    r0nan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    And can i ask you how did you manage to install it. Because as far as i know its only available in Greece.
    Can you provide any download link?
     
  16. Zeff

    Zeff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Go to Handset updates from Utilities in 'Motorola Media Link'. It is just simply updating the handset and it solved my problem. Hope it helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...