1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Alarm not going off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by okbeast, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    Anyone else had this problem? Alarm didn't go off this morning. Did a reboot at lunch and it's fixed now but this isn't one of those things that can happen then fix afterwards, period IMO.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 916x10

    916x10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    491
    65
    73
    No sir, but I also don't use the stock alarm app. I use AlarmDroid, absolutely wonderful!
     
    macgiobuin likes this.
  3. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    I'm gonna d/l an aftermarket alarm. Today it did it again and I checked to make sure the speaker was workign correctly and it still was.
     
  4. macgiobuin

    macgiobuin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    321
    32
    63
    Police Lieutenant
    Chattanooga, TN
    I had this happen on my old phone when it would run out of internal memory overnight....hasn't happened with Atrix 2. I hadn't heard of AlarmDroid, but am going to look into it. Thanks for the tip!
     
  5. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    Just d/l it. Has a RIDICULOUS amount of options that I would never even begin to get into haha
     
  6. Pilgrimtozion

    Pilgrimtozion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Why would you recommend it over the regular app that comes with the phone? I currently have no need for another app than the regular one but if somebody would convince me...
     
  7. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    Because the regular app didn't work for me one morning hah
     
  8. 916x10

    916x10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    491
    65
    73
    I have nothing to gain by trying to convince you. Try it if you want, or don't, totally up to you. ;)
     
  9. VentureForth

    VentureForth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    111
    1
    36
    Engineer
    Savannah, GA
    I use Alarm Clock Plus which worked flawlessly on my Captivate. But it looks like it's not working great with Fancy Widgets. Seems to "deactivate" pretty easily. To answer Pilgrimtozion, I don't like the stock app, because it doesn't have a nap feature. I love that feature on AC+.
     
  10. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    I've also used Alarm Clock Plus forever, and have been using it with Fancy Widgets for the last several months with no issues. There's a nice "white noise" option that can be very relaxing.
     
  11. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    D/l'd AlarmDroid.

    Had it not go off last night. Got to work and the alarm icon was back on the screen. Something weird is going on some nights with my phone apparently.
     
  12. Pilgrimtozion

    Pilgrimtozion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Do you have some kind of other program interfering with it?
     
  13. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    I must, but I don't have anything running at night. And the phone stays plugged in all night.
     
  14. Pilgrimtozion

    Pilgrimtozion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I thought about you this morning (scary, I know) and thought - maybe you're just turning it off without realizing it when you're really REALLY tired?!?
     
  15. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    Doubt it, with teh stock alarm you have to swipe aross the bottom. With the alarm I d/l you have to do a "long hold" on the button to turn it off. I just don't see both of these happening.
     
  16. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    with the one that I mentioned, you can set it up to make you solve a math problem before it'll turn off.
     
  17. Pilgrimtozion

    Pilgrimtozion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Problem with that is I can solve math problems in my sleep...no really...
     
  18. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    I'm almost positive i'm not shutting it off in my sleep. It's either not going off, the app is shutting down, or the speaker is quitting working.
     
  19. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    I know with some versions of Gingerbread, there's an option to set "quiet hours" - since I don't have an A2 yet, I don't know if this option exists on this phone, but if it does, is it possible you accidentally set it?

    And Pilgrim, there's varying degrees of difficulty for the math problems. I can solve the easy ones in my sleep as well, but the challenging ones seem to force me awake enough to actually logic them through that it works well for me. :)
     
  20. Pilgrimtozion

    Pilgrimtozion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Fair enough. I mean, I don't need much to wake up, so I just use the alarm...but it is a nice feature! Very smart.

    Sorry I cannot help you any further with your problem okbeast.
     
  21. okbeast

    okbeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    57
    0
    15
    I already get pissed off enough when my alarm goes off, I don't need some math problem to make that 10 times worse haha
     

Share This Page

Loading...