1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Alarm Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DPG, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. DPG

    DPG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hi

    I am brand new to Android and the HTC Desire. I have moved over from a Blackberry and so far I have been more than impressed with the phone. I love it and find the functionality second to none. However, with all the glory there is one little niggle I am unsure as to why this is happening. On the phones main alarm, I set it up properly and it didn
     

    Advertisement

  2. Case

    Case Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    125
    12
    38
    Cheshire, UK
    Weird, my alarms works fine.

    Sorry if this is a dumb question but you don't turn your phone off at night, do you?

    I discovered that if the phone is turned off, it doesn't power on like my previous phone when the alarm is due to go off.
     
  3. DPG

    DPG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    No, its permanently left on. Is it the way I am setting it up?



     
  4. nekromantik

    nekromantik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    170
    3
    36
    Student
    Bristol, UK

    thats disappointing as all me previous mobiles, I switch off when I go to sleep and use it as a alarm as they all power on for alarm.
     
  5. marshalex

    marshalex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    80
    1
    36
    IT Support Analyst
    Long Eaton
    i've had the same problem too, however i think its to do with the clock application needing to be running. if you kill it with advanced task killer or similar and still have the alarm set it wont go off, but with the clock application running it works fine.
     
  6. DPG

    DPG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Which one is the clock application and how do you get it running?
     
  7. marshalex

    marshalex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    80
    1
    36
    IT Support Analyst
    Long Eaton
    its just the normal clock application where you set the alarm. i tested mine this morning and that has to be running for the alarm to work. hope this helps
     
  8. DPG

    DPG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I will try it later thank you. Apart from that, and the screen locking being a pain, its a fab phone.
     
  9. spirit44

    spirit44 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    +1

    i had same problem, i was killing the clock with task killer

    stopped doing that and it works just fine

    :D
     
    DPG likes this.
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Another alarm/taskiller issue. If only I had a pound for everyone of these I've seen :p
     
  11. brawbob

    brawbob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    I am sorry for being thick here! but does this actually mean that the alarm only works if the phone is switched on? This would explain why I slept in this morning! My wifes
     
  12. dlemma

    dlemma Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    Unfortunately not, you're reading it exactly right.
    If you want an alarm clock to go off, leave the phone switched on.
    Else, enjoy your sleep :(
     
  13. brawbob

    brawbob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Its the simple things eh?
    I cant charge the phone at my bedside so leaving it switched on overnight is not an option due to a. the battery wont last all of the previous day and then overnight. b. if it did last it would definitely need charged in the morning which again would not be possible.
    Result is I cant reliably use the alarm to wake me up either at home or when away on trips.
    A small issue like thie is a deal breaker for me and unless any downloadable apps work differently I will have to return the phone.

    Shame.
     
  14. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Turn off wifi, turn off mobile data, or just turn on aeroplane mode as someone suggested. You'd be surprised just how little battery is used when the phone is used like this overnight. Do a test, its barely loses any charge.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...