1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Album tracks put in alphabetical order by HDH!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Merk1981, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Hi

    Why is it that when you sync an album with your phone via wmp, it always places the tracks in alphabetical order? It is so annoying as it generally ruins the flow of most albums.

    Is there a way around this problem? My wmp settings are not geared for alphabetical sorting so it must be the stupid phone. The DHD does some things so well but on matters like this, my old SE Walkman phones made the DHD look like a cumbersome thing of the past.
     

    Advertisement

  2. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    If the tracks were numbered in the file names then it would be in the same order as they're numbered.
    Alphabetical order is the way any file is ordered on any os or program generally.

    If you have windows media player set up to order tracks a different way than the default alphabetical way, than thats because you've changed it to be that way.

    The only way to get it in an ordering that you perfer on the simple music player built into the phones is by creating a playlist.

    you can also try a 3rd party music player like winamp for android for example.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    It can be a bit hit and miss with this sort of thing until you get a setup that works for you really. It sounds like your ID3 tags (which include track order) are working on your computer but the phone isn't picking them up. I'm not very familiar with winamp so I can't really suggest any tweaking you can do on that end of things.

    Which app are you using on your phone to play them? It might be worth trying some others.
     
  4. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I use the standard HTC music app due to the Dolby Mobile feature which does improve sound quality significantly. Unfortunately, the sound quality does not make up for the frustration when track 1 suddenly jolts into track 8!
     
  5. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton

    rename the files, turn off shuffle :p

    I have all my music named by Artist - Album Name (if applicable) - Disc # (if applicable) - Track Number - Title .mp3
    EDIT: also, each album is in its own folder named Artist - Album

    and All my ID3 tags are properly done as well.

    I've had no issues with music order or anything.

    If you want to play just that album, click the 3 lines button on the lower left of the screen, and then at the bottom of the new screen, select the cd, then choose your album ;)
     
  6. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    You shouldn't have to rename files though. My phone 6 years ago was capable of recognising the correct order of tracks from an album ripped from a CD.

    I've noticed that in the file properties from all tracks I've saved from CD all show track number as "unknown". Windows Media Player can understand which order the tracks should be played in so I still can't understand why a top end Android phone is so stupid.
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    I gave the winamp app a try and couldn't see any option to enable the dolby audio feature unfortunately.

    I know of another app that does support that feature, PowerAMP, but it kinda seems pointless buying another app when the HTC app should be able to read them anyway.

    Ironically I've found the setup that works for me is tagging all of my songs in iTunes and syncing it from there :p
     
  8. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I am selecting the cd from the bottom menu and picking the album, but when I play it, all the tracks are in alphabetical order rather than the original order in which they were intended to be played. This problem only seems to apply to albums that I've ripped from CD and synched via WMP.
     
  9. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    Thats why I dont trust wmp to manage my music (name, tag, and location).

    I've always manually organized my media, and use a program call Mp3tag to properly tag my music. Its free, and you can do En Masse tagging as well. Pretty powerful little tool if you ask me.
     
    Xyro and Merk1981 like this.
  10. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Sounds promising. I'll give it a try. Thanks.
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    You should be able to put them back into winamp too once you've used that tool.
     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    There are 2 types of ID3 tags, V1 and V2

    As far as I was aware, ID3 V2 isn't supported on Android and that's the default version WMP uses when ripping tracks from CD, that would be why it's not working as you would expect. That tag app from a few posts up should sort. Alternatively, ripping the CD's in winamp would do it too.
     
  13. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    All my music has only V2 ID3 tags. Before I retag I use MP3tag to remove any an all metadata from the files (the tags), making sure to run the batch delete a few times to make sure its just raw music data and then I tag them with only v2 tags. The Sense 2.1 Music app reads the tag info fine and the embedded album art in the ID3 v2 metadata as well.
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Fair do's, it was a wee while back I read the tag thing.
     
  15. JSLEnterprises

    JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    90
    26
    23
    IT
    Hamilton
    I think it was Eclaire and early Froyo 2.0 that wasnt able to read it, and then added the support for it in 2.1... but then again, that was the google music app.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  16. Merk1981

    Merk1981 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Well I went with Power AMP in the end. It knows the right order to play tracks without any re-tagging and you still get the Dolby Mobile feature. I just have to pay for the pleasure. Shame the HTC app isn't up to scratch.
     
  17. Spaceprobe

    Spaceprobe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    405
    57
    53
    Male
    Retired Nurse
    Brighton. UK
    I have the same problem and found that Power Amp did not help so it took it off. I also found that Power amp messes up album art and will not let you choose art from the gallery.
     
  18. Spaceprobe

    Spaceprobe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    405
    57
    53
    Male
    Retired Nurse
    Brighton. UK
    Since reading these posts yesterday and went back and had a play and discovered that if in the Windows media player menu I set rip to MP3 then the tracks are in perfect order on the phone. Have spent hours deleting my music and re ripping using the above and all is fine:D:D
     
    Merk1981 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...