1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [All Carriers][ROM][4.4.4] ViperOneM8 | Android 4.4.4 Sense 6.0 - HTC One M8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Granite1, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Tried to install multiple versions of this ROM and not a single one has worked ever. Now, just recently, I tried to install 4.6.1. The same thing happens every time: it installs, and after the initial boot up, I get repeating "process com.Android.phone has failed" messages, over and over. So I restored my backup, and now after restoring, I keep getting random power menu opening, a strange message that says "to restart phone present and hold power and volume up for 10 seconds". My screen will randomly lock itself, or get the power menu or get the restart message, over and over for a few minutes straight, and then it stops. What's going on with my phone???
     

    Advertisement

  2. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,414
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,414
    844
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    You broke it. Sorry for your bad luck pal.

    Seriously, did you try a factory data reset before installing the rom? Are you on the correct baseband for the rom? To fix your phone right now, a factory data reset will probably goes miles towards that end.

    good luck
     
  3. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I don't know anything about baseband version. And im a little confused still when people say "factory reset." I did full data and cache wipe. But when I bought my phone it was already rooted and had a different operating system, Android Revolution Lolipop 5.0.1. I haven't been able to do anything root related with it. Xposed won't work. Im starting to assume something is broken. How do I do a full stock restore from this point? Download and try to install stock ROM?
     
  4. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    I'd recommend running an RUU to start from scratch with your device. Then you can root it yourself and flash whatever ROM you want onto it (or just leave it stock, or just root it, etc.).

    Here's a list of all the available RUUs: http://www.htc.com/us/support/rom-downloads.html
     
    dan55 and Granite1 like this.
  5. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,414
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,414
    844
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    There's so much wrong. Your original ROM is lolipop and this one is kitkat, an older android version. Factory data reset is wiping data and cache, but how are you doing it? Is your phone even s-off? If you don't know these basics, you should do some serious reading before you do a single thing to do your phone before you total it.
     
  6. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I just know it as wiping data cache and I do it in my recovery. I do have s-off, yes.


    I keep seeing the term RUU but I don't understand what that is. I will check out the link you posted. Will doing this remove my s-off?
     
  7. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    RUU = ROM Update Utility

    It's a program you run from your Windows computer to return your device to fully stock software. You just need to find the version for your variant on that page, download it and install.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  8. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,414
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,414
    844
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    I made a mistake when I mentioned 'baseband', I should have referred to firmware instead. Suffice it to say that you should only flash roms that match your phone's firmware and that is why you are experienceing the problems you are. I.E., if you were running a ROM based on android 5.0.1, then your phone very likely has already been flashed to that firmware as well. This ROM is based on Android 4.4.4.

    But Cap'tn Throwback knows WAY more about this phone than I do, so you should just follow his instructions to fix.

    good luck

    p.s. the fact that you are doing your data wipes in recovery and know that your phone is s-off tells me that you do know a bit more than I previously gave you credit for.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  9. mricu

    mricu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Is there a workaround yet for the issue with AT&T phones on 4GLTE where your phone does not ring when someone is calling?

    Only solution I found was to turn off the data and the phone rings fine, but once your on 4GLTE phone does not ring.
     
  10. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    For those who are on Sprint and have updated your firmware to Marshmallow (6.20.651.3 & 6.20.564.3) Viper has been updated to version 5.0.2.

    Post over at XDA here:Sprint Support Added in ViperOneM8 5.0.2

    If you haven't updated your firmware, don't flash, it won't work trust me. ;)
     
    dan55 likes this.
  11. jl79

    jl79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    621
    151
    123
    Self-Employed
    U.S.A.
    Do we know what the status is for a T-Mobile update for Marshmallow and Viper? I'm currently on 1.23.213311491.05G_20.57.4198.02_F with Viper 4.6.1. and Android version 5.0.2.

    It's been so long I cant even remember how to update firmware...I guess that's the beauty of Viper being such a great ROM, I have no need to switch to anything else.

    I really need to work on my wife's phone as well, she is still back on 1.19.213311491.03G_20.56.4198.02L_F. Does anyone know if I will be able to just jump that phone up to the most current firmware (Marshmallow) without having to do incremental updates?

    Also I think my biggest problem is getting adb to work on Windows 10, I have never tried to get it to work on this new computer yet.
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,949
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,949
    289
    263
    some good ruu info here thanks guys... think I'm so rusty with this flashing stuff that maybe q new device is easier!! :-D
     
    jl79 likes this.
  13. jl79

    jl79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    621
    151
    123
    Self-Employed
    U.S.A.
    Exactly, that's the problem when you have such a good ROM like Viper...there is no need to change and then you forget how to do all this stuff like upgrading firmware.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  14. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,949
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,949
    289
    263
    yeah for sure - on the Sammy s3 I was flashing it etc every day sometimes! :D
     
    jl79 likes this.
  15. jl79

    jl79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    621
    151
    123
    Self-Employed
    U.S.A.
    Reminds me of the original EVO.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  16. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,949
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,949
    289
    263
    hi there guys,
    yes im still stuck on viper 1.8 :D ....although its still a great version .... but thinking of RUUing to 6.0 and then getting a new viper - is there a android 6 version?
    thanks
    dan
     

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...