1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

All In One Recovery Thread

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by getitnowmarketing, May 6, 2011.

  1. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #162
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,752
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,752
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    I have been in the habit of making a weekly Nandroid backup, and every time I do I find myself wishing that RA recovery would list the name of the Nandroid file it just created before I reboot and dig up that information with a file explorer (I keep a log for the Ally and copy down these Nandroid names as they are made).

    Could this be a possible feature upgrade for RA Recovery, to list the Nandroid name when it is done creating it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. aperseghin

    aperseghin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    38
    1
    36
    ok this is BS,
    search is STILL BING ! ! ! wtf
     
  3. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    Why were you expecting something differnet? All this is for is to flash the custom recovery image.
     
  4. aperseghin

    aperseghin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    38
    1
    36
    OOPS MY BAD, wrong thread... i meant to post thin in the thread for breakneckmod4.. sorry
     
  5. teh_dude

    teh_dude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    496
    96
    73
    Full time student at UT Arlington, in middle of BS
    Arlington/Denton, TX
    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-all-things-root/352401-do-not-use-clockwork-mod-rom-manager.html

    There had been a variety of users who ran into the same basic problem, and if I'm not mistaken, it points mainly to the use of CWM. Simply installing ROM Manager itself causes no harm of course.

    Agreed.

    I'd like to provide an analogy for you to illustrate that using a more efficient way is not, as you seem to imply, a bad idea. Take for example two different methods in basic Calculus on how to take a derivative of a function. The basic understanding in either case is that the derivative of a function yields another function that represents the slope of the original at any given point. If you're already familiar, cool. If not, just think of slope in common sense terms--skiing down a mountain that is sloped either steep or gently.

    Taking the derivative the manual way, you must take the limit of the function plugged into the difference quotient as h -> 0. For an example, I'll use a basic equation: y = f(x) = x^2:

    d(x^2) = lim.. (x+h)^2-x^2 = lim.. x^2+2xh+h^2-x^2 = lim.. 2xh + h^2 =
    ....dx.......h->0....... h........... h->0.......... h............... h->0 h .......h

    lim.. (2x + h) = 2x
    h->0

    Or, you can take the derivative the super fast way, by simply reducing the exponent by a value of 1, and applying the original exponent as a coefficient of your variable. Demonstrated with the same function as above, f(x) = x^2:

    d(x^2) = 2x^1 = 2x
    ....dx

    Now if you're already familiar with this, you'll know what I'm talking about. If you're not, that's okay. Surely you can still see the MASSIVE difference in efficiency. In fact, the second method shown here is vastly used, and the first method is only taught practically as a formality to show where it comes from. You can learn what a derivative really is with either method. Once you start taking derivatives of much more complicated functions, it becomes impractical and illogical to use the long method.

    Just the same, while I recommend that all new rooters heavily investigate what they're doing, understand what it is that they're doing, have a backup plan and a way to revert what they're doing, and overall be completely aware of the consequences, both potential and guaranteed, I believe that a rooter can understand these consequences in this context without going through and manually typing a bunch of stuff in ADB. Just the same, I enjoy administrator access on any computer I own, but I enjoy it at the level of a competent user--not a Windows developer.

    Efficiency is a good thing, and is sufficiently separable in this context from the issue of knowledge vs ignorance.

    EDIT: All of the above said, while it doesn't take much typing to manually flash a recovery, I look forward to when ROM Manager compatibility issues are addressed, and/or someone makes a competing app that achieves the same goal.
     
  6. infamous-blob

    infamous-blob Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    when I enter the command : cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image the terminal says " cannot create directory becaude it is read only"
     
  7. chaveza427

    chaveza427 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Model: LG Vortex
    Problem:
    when entering
    cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image
    I receive this:
    /sdcard/flash_image: no such file or directory
     
  8. teh_dude

    teh_dude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    496
    96
    73
    Full time student at UT Arlington, in middle of BS
    Arlington/Denton, TX
    look where you put flash_image on your SD card. is it in any folders? for example, for anything I intend to install like this, or any zips I want to flash, I always put them in a folder on my SD card named "a". So in my case, I had to modify the statement to "cat /sdcard/a/flash_image....", so it would look in the correct location.
     
    DaniellieeE and chaveza427 like this.
  9. chaveza427

    chaveza427 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Yeah I found it, thank you so much, it worked perfectly once I realized I had the stuff in a folder named "recov"
     
  10. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    did you run the "# mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 (your device /system path) /system" correctly? this mounts system as read/write
     
  11. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    This Custom Recovery works very well, once you figure out those commands.

    BY the way, don't sell the LG Vortex short. It's a decent phone and a good successor to the Ally if money is an issue for you. (I got mine free after $50.00 rebate.) It's extremely easy to root and there is very little need for a custom ROM. Just delete the crap you don't want and install what you do. AND it runs Netflix! :)

    I do miss knowing what's going on in the Ally community though. Doesn't look like anything juicy has emerged on the Custom ROM scene since Velocity 1.1 though. StormDroid isn't out yet, nor is CM7... and nothing else appears to be happening.
     
  12. stpx88

    stpx88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Sorry, I am noob to this, but Im not that clear on what Im supposed to do. I have the LG Optimus M. Can anyone please help.
     
  13. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    download the flash_image file and the recovery specific to your phone and download terminal emulaior on your phone and run said commands, BAM custom recovery. check the 1st post, it says it all
     
  14. zorgo

    zorgo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Please someone tell me the code to get into the custom recovery for the lg optimus one please i need help i've tried for hours please reply and tell me
     
  15. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    Do you mean by a command in terminal or a hard key combination. Cause the hard key combinations are listed in the original post.
     
  16. star2doc

    star2doc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Senior Systems Engineer
    Miami, Florida
    Netflix also appears to run on the Optimus M...
     
  17. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area
    A little choppy, but, yeah, it works.
     
  18. niket

    niket Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    when i coded
    $ su
    su
    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock1 /system
    it showed sumthing like this
    "Usage : mount[-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory "

    # cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image
    it showed sumthing like this
    "cannot create /system/bin/flash_image:read-only file system "
    please tell me what to do,..
     
  19. niket

    niket Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    You must unzip flash_image.zip into root directory of sdcard (not in any folder)[/QUOTE]
    and u answered




    when i coded
    $ su
    su
    # mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock1 /system
    it showed sumthing like this
    "Usage : mount[-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory "

    # cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image
    it showed sumthing like this
    "cannot create /system/bin/flash_image:read-only file system "
    please tell me what to do,..
     
  20. sixpack

    sixpack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    41
    3
    36
    This worked perfectly thanks a bunch!
     
  21. niket

    niket Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    hey @ SIXPACK pls help...
     
  22. sixpack

    sixpack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    41
    3
    36
    Not sure in your case but did you do the following:

    <Assuming you are using adb from pc command prompt> After you issue the su command it asks for permission in your phone for superuser approval, after you approve, did you then select the mount as mass storage on your phone again?

    Don't exactly remember if that's how I did it but I think so.

    Cheers!
     
  23. niket

    niket Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5

    no i hav used terminal emulator got permission 4rm superuser..and then typed those commands bt it showd sum different
     
  24. sixpack

    sixpack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    41
    3
    36
    Maybe you are not fully rooted? I heard there are two kinds of root. But besides that I have no idea, hope you figure it out.
     
    niket likes this.
  25. prabha4u4ever

    prabha4u4ever Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    how to get the command screen where i can perform all these operations said by you..i know its a combination of keys but pls guide me the keys
     

Share This Page

Loading...