1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ALL IN ONE] The HTC Thunderbolt Tool!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by trter10, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    My much anticipated HTC Thunderbolt tool is HERE! :D

    This tool is your all-in-one toolbox for the HTC Thunderbolt.

    With it, you can:

    1. S-OFF and Root
    2. Unroot
    3. Flash CWM, CWM Touch, TWRP, or 4ext recovery
    4. Boot menu: Reboot, Hot reboot, Reboot recovery, Reboot to fastboot, Reboot to hboot, Power off
    5. Disable HTC OTA Updates
    6. Run an ADB/Fastboot Command Prompt
    7. Install Busybox
    *** MANY MORE FEATURES COMING SOON! ***

    SCREENSHOTS:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    CREDITS:

    INSTRUCTIONS:

    Put ThunderboltTool.exe in its own folder, then run ThunderboltTool.exe, then run ThunderboltTool.bat. The .bat is what you will use from then on.

    READ THE README THAT POPS UP ON THE FIRST RUN AND FOLLOW ALL ITS DIRECTIONS!!!!

    CHANGELOG:

    Changelog can be found here: https://github.com/trter10/Thunderbolt-Tool/blob/master/CHANGELOG.txt


    DOWNLOAD:

    Main Download: Goo.im Downloads - Downloading ThunderboltTool.exe

    MD5 is on download page.

    ENJOY! :)
     

    Advertisement

    Gibby999, Diggs, snsjets and 6 others like this.
  2. Pred-a-tor

    Pred-a-tor Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    69
    10
    18
    This is very cool. Thanks for bringing over to these forums! I look forward to seeing more folks not already rooted take the plunge. Good on ya for putting this together
     
    trter10 likes this.
  3. raginfox

    raginfox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I am getting this error when I attempt to load the file:
    The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, an d then contact the software publisher.

    Is there a way to get a version that works with 64 bit operating systems? Thanks!
     
  4. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    I made it on a 64 bit PC so I'm not sure what's going on

    But, you can always use the old-fashioned zipfile method haha

    Just unzip it to a folder: Goo.im Downloads - Downloading ThunderboltTool.zip
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    thanks for bringing this here.

    i will keep the manual methods up for those that need(or just want ;)) them.

    link added to ATR sticky :)
     
    trter10 likes this.
  6. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    Thanks :D
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    welcome :)

    what is going to be on your unbrick menu?
     
  8. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    Ota update bootloop is all I can think of right now, but it will have more.
     
  9. schlup41

    schlup41 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Male
    hendersonville, tn
    when downloaded does this file stay on the computer or go to the Bolt sd card for usage? Already s off with revolutionary but sounds like a great addition to current files.:)
     
  10. firefoxdude

    firefoxdude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    With this tool can you unroot and install the OTA update and then reroot?
     
  11. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    Stays on computer
     
    schlup41 likes this.
  12. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    You can, but I don't see what the point is. The ota has caused people more harm than good.
    But you could also just install the rooted ota rom
     
  13. firefoxdude

    firefoxdude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Thanks, I just dislike the popups that come up every 1-2 days asking for update then failing. Is the rooted ota rom you speak of just an update file to apply? Or a fresh blank rom?

    I am currently on: 2.11.605.5 and I have been having some issues with random lose of 4g and restarts and had hoped the ota updates I have been missing for a while may have fixed some things. I will try out your tool later to see if it helps after unrooting and applying then rerooting.

    Also with the official ICS rom coming in 1-2 months from verizon I hoped to be able to stay on official and then reroot as I do like the stock roms but like root as well.
     
  14. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    The rooted ota is a full rom but you shouldn't need to wipe data.

    There is an ota stopper in extras to stop the pop ups also, but my rooter blocks otas in the process
     
    firefoxdude likes this.
  15. firefoxdude

    firefoxdude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Thanks for the info, and thanks for making this handy tool.

    With Verizon ending unlimited data with upgrades I plan on being on the thunderbolt for as long as possible to maintain my Unlimited 4G and with work continuing to be done to improve the thunderbolt it makes me happy.
     
    trter10 likes this.
  16. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    Is this intended for those that are new to root or? I am rooted but just on CM7, yet I want to upgrade, does this help in anyway?
     
  17. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    Help with what exactly?
     
  18. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    I guess make it easier to switch up between ROMs? Ive been out of the TB root loop for a while...
     
  19. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    There will be in the next version, v0.2b1, but that's of course not out yet :p
     
  20. scoobntaz1996

    scoobntaz1996 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    142
    17
    38
    Male
    Oregon
    ok i am trying to unroot using this program and i get a...... failed to copy 'support_files\unroot\Stock-ROM.zip' to '/sdcard/PG05IMG.zip': Re
    ad-only file system.
    does this mean is not working?
     
  21. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    Phone has to be in charge only mode
     
  22. Snerch

    Snerch Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    NJ
    I finally rooted my TBolt using this tool and it worked flawlessly. Simple to use. Thanks for posting this!
     
    trter10 likes this.
  23. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    580
    21
    63
    Gallatin, TN
    Curious Question. I already rooted using Revolutionary, does this act as a recovery? Would it be beneficial to use this instead of ClockWorkMod?
     
  24. trter10

    trter10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    39
    23
    38
    No this isn't a recovery
     
  25. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #647
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    This worked amazing on my new one from my damage/insurance replacement.
     
    trter10 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...