1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root All of a sudden voicemail issues, nothing been changed?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Huge Noob, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. Huge Noob

    Huge Noob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    139
    47
    63
    Internet Sales
    Oregon
    Hi there. I've been running Mik 2.55 and Chop Suey 0.9 for several days now, no issues, no problems.

    All of a sudden today, voicemails won't download. I hit the 'retry download' and it doesn't work.

    Has anyone else experienced this? Is it maybe a Sprint Network thing??

    Thanks!
    -HN
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it could be a sprint thing. have you tried to wipe dalvik cache and cache?
     
  3. Huge Noob

    Huge Noob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    139
    47
    63
    Internet Sales
    Oregon
    *Update*
    A few of the things I've tried to resolve it -

    Wiped Davlik Cache & Cache

    Updated Profile

    Updated PRL

    Verified on all the newest radios

    Checked Voicemail settings - didn't find anything, but maybe didn't know where to look?

    Searched MikMik forums for an answer

    Searched XDA forums for an answer

    Ideas anybody?? Not a critical problem.....but a damned annoying one!! :mad:

    Thanks!
    -HN
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Stop using Sprint voicemail and come to the darkside and use Google voice for your voicemail. It's easy to set up and if you decide to flash a new rom, sign back into Google Voice and your settings will still be the same.

    I've been using Google voice for almost 2 years now and not one issue with the voicemail.

    This may not be the answer you're looking for but this may be an alternative to sprint voicemail. I also hear that youmail works fine also. Both youmail and Google voice can be found in the market
     
  5. Huge Noob

    Huge Noob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    139
    47
    63
    Internet Sales
    Oregon
    This dark side you speak of, do they have cookies? :D

    Man, I'm pretty deep in the darkside at this point, just a couple weeks ago I was an absolute noob running a stock phone, and look at me now..rooted, rom'ed kerneled. Anyway, I love I mean freakin' LOVE visual voicemail...not listening to BS messages I don't want to bother with is very, very nice.

    Does Google voice work like that, or is it more like old-school...press one, press 7, etc.?
     
  6. Huge Noob

    Huge Noob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    139
    47
    63
    Internet Sales
    Oregon
    *EDIT*

    Added a Screen shot, if that helps.
    Thanks!
    -HN
     

    Attached Files:

  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Well, GV is transcribed for you and when you want to listen to a message, you just press play underneath the transcribed message. No pressing numbers.

    Very simple interface and if you're on your computer and someone leaves a message, you will be able to see the transcribed message in GV.
     
  8. Huge Noob

    Huge Noob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    139
    47
    63
    Internet Sales
    Oregon
    So, this is way weird. I downloaded youmail, and set it up. Went through the whole setup, and there's a part where the app actually calls the server/carrier/something and sets itself up as the new default.

    I did that, then tried making a greeting...no dice. 'Connection Issues'

    Then, like magic, my Sprint Visual Voicemail suddenly downloaded 3 days worth of messages, and appears to be working.

    Weird.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    huh that is odd. i guess whatever works.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...