1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support All Widgets Mysteriously Remove from Home Screens

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rjsteg, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. rjsteg

    rjsteg Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    Hello,

    I've had my Nexus 5 for about six weeks now and love it. I built up four nicely formatted screens of widgets and folders for all my applications.

    Today, I unlocked it and *ALL* of my widgets were GONE! All of my applications are still there and operating properly, so this isn't an emergency or causing a panic. It will simply be a pain to recreate those screens.

    Is there a way to restore my widgets?

    I see that there is a "Backup & reset" section under "Settings", but I don't see any "Restore" options other than the factory reset. I don't want that, of course.

    If there isn't a way to restore these, then is there an app that will *save* my screens so that I don't have to do this again?

    Thank you,
    Randy Stegbauer
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    It depends on the launcher you use. For the stock launcher, you have to be rooted and My Backup Pro (which is $4) will back up your screens.

    I use Nova Launcher, and it has an internal backup and restore function.
     
  3. rjsteg

    rjsteg Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013

    Dec 3, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    I guess I should have mentioned that my phone is not rooted. Are there any apps that will save and restore the icons without the phone being rooted? Or am I in the wrong forum?
     
  4. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Changing the launcher doesn't require root.

    I don't know what caused the problem in the first case, but unless it has happening again, I wouldn't worry about it. If it happens again, personally, I'd try to figure out what app is causing the issue and uninstall it. (I like the stock launcher)

    It doesn't happen on mine - I would be annoyed too if it did
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...