1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root All you droid x rooters

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Phantom_LS2, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. Phantom_LS2

    Phantom_LS2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    150
    18
    58
    Mechanical Engineer
    Central Tx
    Are any of you overclocked yet? If you are, what speeds are you able to get to and still keep it stable.
     

    Advertisement

  2. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    You cannot overclock without a custom kernel which would require the ability to flash custom roms which we cannot do yet(maybe never:()because of the encrypted bootloader
     
  3. Phantom_LS2

    Phantom_LS2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    150
    18
    58
    Mechanical Engineer
    Central Tx
    Ahhh, gotcha.
     
  4. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    Cool:D
     
  5. duffyanneal

    duffyanneal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    I read that Milestone can be overclocked. Its bootloader hasn't been cracked yet. So it seems it can be done without modification to the ROM.
     
  6. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    they need a new kernel for Overclocking. If it can be done w/ the Milestone, the X will be overclocked
     
  7. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,791
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I use setCPU to under clock mine in certain situations. My max is 0.6 Ghz when my screen is off for example, plus under clock on high battery temp and low battery. I have seen no lag or any performance issues, but I have seen a better battery life.
     

Share This Page

Loading...