1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ally Camera Interface

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AllyNati, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. AllyNati

    AllyNati Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Okay, I've got a question for you guys.

    My friend (who also has an Ally) added the camera icon to the swipe bottom section in Launcher Pro.
    Now when he opens his camera thru that icon, the camera comes up in an all new BLACK interface.
    The features are similar, but I really like the look.
    So I added mine in the swipe area too.
    To no avail, I have the same ole interface.

    He claims this is all he did, if not, he has no idea how it came up.

    Has anyone else seen this 2nd camera interface?
    Do any of you know how to access it?
    I've tried everything I can think of.

    FYI...
    I have seen this same interface in the new T-Mobile G2 by HTC.

    Thanks in advance for your help!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Ha i figured it out! what i did was in launcher pro. i selected an empty spot on my dock chose swipe gesture action, launch shortcut, activities, there will be 2 camera listings. expand them and choose the one that says com.android.camera.Camera it should be in the second camera category. or to make it easier to launch choose change shortcut instead of swipe gesture action, and then activities
     
  3. AllyNati

    AllyNati Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Awesome!
    Still frustrated me tho. LOL
    I tried the swipe action thingy 4-5 times with no luck.
    Then I tried the Change Shortcut and WHALLA!

    I can't thank you enough!!!
    Beers all around!
     
  4. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    I dont like the swipe function. its hard to swipe with out scrolling the dock
     
  5. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    I don't think this works anymore on 2.2 :/ Does it?
     
  6. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Im not sure. you using launcherpro?
     
  7. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    I tried it with Launcher Pro and it didn't work.
     
  8. PowerBomb

    PowerBomb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    542
    104
    93
    Chicago
    Tried it with Froyo/Velocity1/LauncherPro as well and got "could not launch requested activity".
     
  9. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    same here
     
  10. wynn55

    wynn55 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    59
    0
    15
    Works fine with Velocity V1 with ADWLauncher EX.
     
  11. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    How? I am currently using that :)
     
  12. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    Bump...
     
  13. RideZeLitenin

    RideZeLitenin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    114
    9
    36
    Nebraska
    Tried it with Froyo/Velocity1/LauncherPro as well and got "could not launch requested activity".
    Ditto...dangit our future looks bleak...:(
     
  14. GRZLA

    GRZLA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    527
    211
    93
    Grand Prairie, TX
    What exactly are you guys wanting? Just a differnt ui for the camera or colors changed? Im not sure what all of the fuss is about.
     
  15. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    We want the different UI.
     
  16. GRZLA

    GRZLA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    527
    211
    93
    Grand Prairie, TX

    Well thats not much help as i do not know what it looks like
    P.
     
  17. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    279
    17
    58
    Roseville, CA
    We are trying to figure out how to launch it. Read the first post -_-
     
  18. GRZLA

    GRZLA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    527
    211
    93
    Grand Prairie, TX

    Only works on elcair, I read the thread.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...