1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips ALMOST a CDMA/LTE toggle switch ...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkuni, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. darkuni

    darkuni Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    • Grab a free app called ANY CUT.
    • Install, run.
    • Select NEW SHORTCUT.
    • Choose ACTIVITY.
    • Choose NETWORK SETTINGS.
    • Name it whatever you like.

    POOF. You have a new shortcut on the desktop that takes you RIGHT to Network Settings. You still have to do the toggling - but this is as close to a toggle as I could get. No different than the Thunderbolt LTE ON/OFF, etc.

    Hope this helps someone!
     

    Advertisement

    alostpacket likes this.
  2. CAMAN

    CAMAN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    60
    27
    23
    Minnesota
    Works, but no different than LTE Switch, or any of the other 4g toggles found in the market. Except you need to make it yourself. Cool app though for the potential of other uses.
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  3. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    Yeah but are there apps that work to toggle 4G for the Galaxy Nexus yet?
     
  4. CAMAN

    CAMAN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    60
    27
    23
    Minnesota
    From what I have read in one of these threads, it wasn't possible, as Google and/or Verizon don't want a 3rd party app to be able to take control of any functions of the phone.
     
    ckelly33 likes this.
  5. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    pulling this quote from a different thread, but the information is very useful. clearly explains why there are, and may never be, any direct 4g toggles available for the GNex without rooting.


    original thread here: http://androidforums.com/verizon-galaxy-nexus/466193-anyone-found-4g-off-widget.html

    edited to add: moving this to the Verizon section since it does not apply to the GSM GNex. :cool:
     
  6. darkuni

    darkuni Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    Sorry, I wasn't aware any Nexus compatible pseudo toggles were out there yet ... My bad ...

    Thanks for moving :)
     
  7. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
  8. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    The ICS power control widget can switch GPS on and off. I'm sure it's been decompiled and studied already.
     
  9. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    Because it was included with the stock rom , it has the key needed to access those settings directly. A stock 4G toggle would work, but a 3rd party one will not. Just as 3rd party toggle widgets such as Extended Controls cannot directly toggle GPS.

    Liquid included a 4g toggle on his thunderbolt roms, I hope this feature makes it to his GNex roms as well.
     
  10. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    Yeah I miss the LTE toggle from my CM7 Thunderbolt . What I'd like more then anything is a way to shut LTE off when the screen is off and automatically switch it to 3g . That would be a HUGE battery saver , cause why do you need 4G when the phone isn't in use. And I know there is jucie defender but that just turns data off and occasionally turns it on to poll it helps but not much since there is an extra app always running . Plus with Juice Defender when you take your phone out of your pocket you usually have to wait a few seconds for Data to reconnect with it just on 3g you'd still have data while you're waiting for a faster data connection to connect
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  11. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Ok. Did no one look at the link I posted. Obviously cyanogen mod has it working. Watch the video vefore continuing to post that you know for a fact its impossible.
     
  12. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
  13. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
  14. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    Right on I'm gonna give this a go on Gummy

    Didn't work for me , flashed it and it showed up as a widget but when I pressed it all it did was turn off my mobile network not switch to 3g . What's weird is if I had the widget set to 3g and I went in to setting it would show CDMA only but I had no data connection same when it was set to 4G it showed LTE/CDMA in settings selected but still no data I had to just remove the widget a re boot to get data back
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Jim, don't flash it. Extract the apk from within system/app and then side load it
     
    ChiTownJim likes this.
  16. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    damn it I read the description wording wrong , I thought it was odd to flash it lol

    Welp I'll report back when I take care of this lol
     
  17. ad78

    ad78 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    30
    3
    16
    CM9 1-2-12 release is amazing. LTE on toggle bar
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...