1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Already rooted Epic 4G, Cant Boot into clockwork

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DGramm16, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. DGramm16

    DGramm16 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have an Epic 4g that I just rooted so now I am trying to go to SyndicateRom from the stock rom. I used the one-click-root that includes clockworkmod but when I try to boot into recovery from ROM manager it goes to the regular Manual Boot screen and I get the "signature verification failed".

    I also tried installing clockworkmod with ROM manager to see if that fixed it but still I cannot boot into clockworkmod. If anyone could tell me maybe I messed a step up or skipped something?

    Sorry if this is a repeat but I've been looking to fix this problem for four days straight and couldnt find anything to help my situation.:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Boot into it manually. The ROM Manager won't boot into it from what I've read.

    Power off the phone.
    Press and HOLD the volume lower button, camera button AND the power button.
    Continue to HOLD the buttons until clockwork recovery opens (green text).
     
    DGramm16 likes this.
  3. DGramm16

    DGramm16 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Ok that definitely worked, I got to the Clockwork screen but when I choose any option the screen goes black, the soft keys on the bottom stay lit and it doesn't do anything. Just goes back and forth between clockwork screen and blank screen.
     
  4. DGramm16

    DGramm16 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Nevermind I realize I need to press the camera button to choose an option. I apologize =[

    Thank you very much by the way!
     
  5. nekoaitsu

    nekoaitsu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I am having this issue, but holding the buttons to manually boot into clockwork is not working. I am booting into stock recovery with blue text and no update.zip files are working. Can anybody help?
     
  6. nekoaitsu

    nekoaitsu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I'm thinking that my Clockwork is not working with my ROM.
    ROM: VIPERrom[IMPact] DK05
    Kernel 2.6.32.9
    Firmware 2.2.1

    Rom Manager 2.5.0.7

    I've been trying to change my ROM for a while, because many applications don't work, but more importantly I have no working GPS with my current one.
     
  7. SeabassNJ

    SeabassNJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    EMT/ PCT
    Dayton NJ
    Im having the same problem. I've held the down volume, camera and power buttons. I get into the blue letter screen... But it won't let me select any options with the camera button. I have to hit the home button. This whole process brings me to the same screen and error messages as when I try to back up from ROM manager.

    (yes Im a noob at android)
     
  8. nekoaitsu

    nekoaitsu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Actually, this has reached a new level of urgency. I tried calling 911 to report a problem on the road tonight and my phone will not connect; in fact, it restarts my wireless signal.
    I really would appreciate some help installing a new ROM asap.
     
  9. SeabassNJ

    SeabassNJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    EMT/ PCT
    Dayton NJ
  10. nekoaitsu

    nekoaitsu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thank you SeabassNJ, the terminal install worked perfectly. I can now boot into clockwork and flash another ROM. :D
     
  11. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    Blue text = stock recovery
    Green text = clockworkmod
     
  12. eflood1133

    eflood1133 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011

    Nov 16, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I apologize for not answering your question but I could realy use some help. I was attempting to root my Epic for ACS recovery using Odin. Odin initially picked up on my device but when I hit start it failed. Then I tried a different port, cable, and took out the sd and now my phone wont start and it has a graphic showing a phone connected to the computer with a yellow sign in the middle. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page

Loading...