1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Alright, you people begging for one-clicks...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Odinist, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK

    Hell yeah!! ::highfive::
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yep just rooted using this method (I know ADB, just wanted to see what this had to offer). Pretty straight forward and easy peasy...
     
  3. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    This rooting process is more aggervating than the lg ally for me! I have managed to get into fastboot one time, an i made a mistake that time, so now that i figured it out, now i can't gt back into fast boot
     
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    well, i just joined the rooted t-bolt club! i am thinking we should start handing out punch cards for frequent rooters, this is device #3 for me. :p
     
  5. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    me3:D
     
  6. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    if you count duplicates and devices belonging to other people, i am actually up to 12. :eek:

    3 droids
    3 g-tablets
    2 incredibles
    2 droid Xs
    1 droid 2
    1 thunderbolt

    :eek:
     
  7. odiej34

    odiej34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    512
    55
    78
    Arizona
    Just downloaded the no adb needed and I am going to give it a shot. Fingers crossed. Do I need anything else? I already had the HTC sense sync.. Wondering if I should wait?
     
  8. odiej34

    odiej34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    512
    55
    78
    Arizona
    GOOD TO GO! (To bed) All rooted and if I can do it anyone can.:D
     
  9. kishin

    kishin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    Orlando, FL
    This is so out of my league.. I just want all this stupid bloatware off my thunderbolt..
     
    redraider1 likes this.
  10. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    i thot i had adb set up,and even have a command window open and it sees my TB... so i ran the adb set up file. it gave me a "could not find adb" error and i had to hit ok several times to get the error box to go away and now it still says pushing files. tried to close it so i could run the other version and it wont let me? not sure if its pushing files or just sitting there confused :thinking: my phone is on its home screen and doesnt look like it its being pushed files.

    edit: ive gotten past that, and now the program reads for devices,finds it,and says "pushing files". it almost immediately reboots to fastboot and the program changes to the "chose bootloader,allow update" message. i push power to select bootloader,the phone checks for files,then sits there.

    to me it looks like the downgrade file dint actually get pushed to the phone.

    am i correct? or do i just need to let the phone sit on the bootloader screen for 10 minutes or so,and it will eventually ask me to update?

    any ideas? gotta go to work now so i cant play with it anymore :( one more day with an unrooted phone,i guess. :mad:
     
  11. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    Takes a while to update. There is a status bar on the right corner off bootloader
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    Nope. Never finds the file,doesn't get a status bar,or ask me to update.just goes into bootloader and sits there.
     
  13. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Just a reminder to everyone, make sure after you root to remove the PG05IMG.zip from your SD card. That way if you boot into CWM manually the bootloader won't try and update it
     
  14. odiej34

    odiej34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    512
    55
    78
    Arizona
    How about the su signed bin? Delete that as well?
     
  15. djb28

    djb28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    312
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    312
    21
    58
    I was thinking about rooting this phone But other than a few Verizon Apps , Two games and Kindle, I do not see where I am bothered much by anything. Is there something i am missing? I know the Fascinate was loaded with crap and was just terrible out of the box. My first HTC so help me out a little.
     
  16. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    It's really all about personal preference. If you're happy with the phone stock then you may not feel a need for rooting. Most of us that are rooting are typically flashaholics and tweekers.;) We are always trying to find something better, faster and more polished than stock.:D Which ever way you decide I say good luck and have fun with your TB, I know I am.
     
    McLabia and djb28 like this.
  17. djb28

    djb28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    312
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    312
    21
    58
    Thanks. For now i will leave it. But i know your addiction. I was constantly trying to outperform the last setting on the Fascinate. BUt it really needed it. This is a nice phone and i am enjoying it. Just wish it had the Super Amoled!
     
  18. Magnus_CA

    Magnus_CA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    Can someone explain what happens after step 1? The easyroot app says to select the bootloader option but I don't get presented with an option. Am I supposed to reboot my phone and hold down a combination of keys?
     
  19. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    It should have typed in adb reboot bootloader on the prompt. If not you can do it manually by powering your phone off and then hold down power and volume down.
     
    Magnus_CA likes this.
  20. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    You can't imagine all the people having problems with this method. Every few minutes another joins the chat room looking for help.
     
    redraider1 likes this.
  21. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've noticed you said this earlier (about the manual method of gaining access to the bootloader). It is the same as my Dinc but for some reason it's not working and that is a bit disturbing knowing that there are many bootloops in my future.
     
  22. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    hey everyone, im not looking to bad-talk or doubt this version of rooting the TB but im just putting this here as more of a PSA...
    watching the andirc chat im seeing someone coming in about once every 30 minutes with a problem from this root method. so just be very careful when your doing this
    it may very well work for some people, but like i said, i'm seeing a lot of people it is not working properly for.
    just a friendly heads up to the newbie rooters out there
     
    redraider1 likes this.
  23. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    What is it doing when you hold volume down and power?
     
  24. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I used this method last night. It took forever to download the files. Then, it was a nightmare trying to get ADB to see my phone. (I'm a n00b at ADB and knowing then what I know now...) Once that was done, any problems that came up <there were a few> were all documented by the OP. There were tons of questions asked that were not only answered in the forums but actually warned about in the OP.

    This method was exactly like the manual method it just pasted the code line by line for you. Apparently, he is working on a more simplified version now.
     
  25. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Absolutely nothing as in I had to do a battery pull. It acted similar to the Qualcomm diagnostic mode I had on my Dinc only without the 3 vibes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...