1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Alright, you people begging for one-clicks...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Odinist, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    So why not use the manual method, copy and paste, and have support in irc? Good support!

    People need to understand that this is *not* unrevoked3.
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No worries, just keep running step 1, or any step that doesnt work, until it does. I had to run every step more than once when I rooted last night
     
  3. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    I used this method last night to root, and yes it was a bit of a pain. I know ADB though and wanted to try this method, I figured if it didn't work then I would fall back on the old tried and true ADB.

    I would advise anyone rooting for the first time to use the manual method.
     
    howarmat, ECFfighter7232 and bjanow like this.
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Doesn't matter, that's a personal preference. SU will not try and update itself when you enter hboot like the PG05IMG.zip does
     
  5. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I apologize. I have derailed the thread a little. I have root-I'm trying to figure out why I can't boot into the bootloader manually. No problems thru Rom Manager but I am a fan of accessing CWM the manual way.

    Edit: BTW, I think it was you, wormdoes that I was bantering back and forth with last night getting root...
     
  6. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    I think the manual way is a lot easier than the "easy" way.
     
    redraider1 and ska.t73 like this.
  7. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    I'm not sure what the problem could be. I have no problems getting to the bootloader by powering off and then holding volume down and power. The bootloader comes up really fast too.
     
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Same here, make sure that you are holding down the volume button before you press the power button. That is the only thing I can think of...
     
  9. Magnus_CA

    Magnus_CA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    I'm rooted. :D

    Aside from not getting the bootloader to kick in and having to apply step 3 a few times to get su it went very smoothly.
     
  10. MCPO117

    MCPO117 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    145
    17
    38
    Verizon store manager
    Ohio
    So what did you have to do to get the bootloader to start up cause that's where I got stuck at last night trying to do this. It said it was pushing the files and then step one ended and it gave me directions in what to do when I was in the bootloader but the bootloader would never come up.
     
  11. Magnus_CA

    Magnus_CA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    I think it came up the third time I tried it. You can get into the bootloader manually though using the directions from a few posts back.
     
  12. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ok. I think I have it. On my Dinc I would hold down volume down and then just hit the power button. On the TB I had to hold down the volume down button and then hold down the power button and just wait....then it boots right in. I do feel better now. Thanks guys!
     
  13. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    You guys are lucky ... I got my bootloader to kick in but no update :mad:
     
  14. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Re do step one...
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    I tried it a few times this morning. Will try again when I get home. Those of you got it to Work... Where did you download to? And did you move the files somewhere else?
    ..
     
  16. rexdog1888

    rexdog1888 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    706
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    706
    250
    113
    Texas
    Will this wipe data? And if so when will a rooting method come out that doesn't(like EasyRoot for the Droid)?

    (& don't bug me about not using adb, i know how(i used it to root my droid), but i dont want to deal with reinstalling all my apps)
     
  17. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    As soon as you sign back into google your apps will download....
     
    jasoraso likes this.
  18. atrain311

    atrain311 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,421
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    1,421
    435
    163
    Male
    1st-grade Teacher & Adjunct Professor
    Queensbury, NY
    Man, I've never attempted anything like this and probably don't even know what the end result would really be (that's how clueless I am). Maybe it is the first grade teacher in me, but I wish I had a visual walk through, because a picture is SO worth a thousand words for me.
     
    McLabia likes this.
  19. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    thats what I thought to.. Just read carefully and you will be fine.
     
  20. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    here are the tips that helped me.

    1. download and set up [HOW-TO] ADB for Dummies(How-To Learner's Guide) first
    2. use the ADB version
    3. make sure "usb debugging" is enabled on your phone under your application -> development settings
    4. re-run step 1 until the phone reboots on its own (took 3 attempts for me)
    5. make sure that you re-enable usb debugging between each step.
     
    McLabia likes this.
  21. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    also, you can back your apps up with Astro so that you do not have to re-download them from the market. you will still lose your data, but installing apks from the SD is much faster than having to download them all over again.

    Astro -> menu button -> Tools -> Application Manager/Backup
     
    rexdog1888 likes this.
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    ha! victory is mine! :D
     
  23. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    Nice
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  24. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Awesome!!!! Glad to hear it, welcome to the club, your blazer and cigar are over on the table!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  25. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    thanx fellas. it was a minor pain. im sure the hard way prolly wasnt any harder,lol. not sure what did it... but i ran the rooter from within the download and that pushed the files. tried step 1 twice and the phone was no longer starting itself in bootloader,had to do it manually.kept getting the "main version older" error :mad: restarted the computer and then step 1 worked. pushed files,booted itself into bootloader,then updated correctly. got the described error on step 2,ran it again and it was fine. 4th time was a charm for step 3 getting SU to work :eek:

    im tired and my eyeballs and brain hurt from staring at my computer,but i feel pretty good about life at the moment :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...