1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Am I naive, or will the OTA get rooted soon?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mahers, May 31, 2011.

  1. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Ok, so I initially rooted Froyo on my X with Z4 just so I could use AdFree, Titanium Backup and get access to certain folders on my phone. Can I live without it? Yes. Would I like to have it again? Absolutely.

    By unrooting with Z4 and taking the 2.3.3 OTA , am I being naive that because p3Droid gave instructions on how to root the OTA by following his steps (too complicated for me:thinking:), that no one will attempt to create something like Z4 or Gingerbreak for the OTA version? :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    im sure its possible that someone will create something like Gingerbreak like app...but i wouldn't count on it...as of now the only way to root is to install one of P3's already rooted versions....

    and its REALLY not that complicated...i promise you can do it...
     
  3. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    +1 to what he said. If you already know how to use Z4 then your only about two steps away from having .596
     
  4. WTF

    WTF Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    245
    27
    43
    Mile High City
    I know you guys say its easy, but I've read too many posts in other threads here about people having problems/issues with the GB leaks. I would love to see a Z4-like app come out for the official OTA so I can "root with a click" and not worry about having to download a 100+ MB file that may get corrupted somehow in the process.

    I'm patiently waiting for the OTA to hit and then read about people's experience with it, both downloading AND rooting - if it takes a few weeks for an easy root solution that's OK with me.

    I appreciate people's posts on what they've seen with the available/leaked versions, looking forward to hearing more about the official OTA when it becomes widespread...
     
  5. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    im being perfectly honest i wouldn't hold your breath on a 1-click solution...as for people having problems...wait till the OTA goes wide...there will be just as many threads about people having problems with that..being official doesn't mean its going to update easier...an official download can be corrupted as easily as an unofficial one..

    installing the rooted version is as easy as downloading the D2 bootstrapper and flashing the files...

    also if you want to unrooted version that is legitimately the exact same file as the OTA...you can install that through the stock recovery system...
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    repeat to what Met said
     
  7. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    84
    9
    16
    Montana
    I tried to install GB on a stock 340 with Z4 and D2 bootstrap and always get the error on the first file. Tried every witch way and no one on the other forums had the answer. I do not want the OTA cause I like root.
     
  8. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    I thought it would be hard too so I waited awhile before I tried the GB leaks, I waited until .595 to be exact. I just read a lot and took in as much information as I thought I needed to just so I wouldn't mess anything up.

    After it was all said and done I laughed at myself because it was so easy, and there I was worrying about it. Like everyone else said, it is that easy...

    If you know how to root and use bootstrap then you can be on GB with no problems at all. Just follow all the instructions carefully and you will be fine.
     
  9. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    84
    9
    16
    Montana

    I think it is easy, I just can't get it to work. I think I would have to SBF but I don't see why when I gave a stock Froyo.
     
  10. cjcross22

    cjcross22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    253
    47
    43
    I was running Apex.. all I did was restore the nandroid I made as soon as I rooted my phone on froyo. then I did the steps to get to .595, ran that until .596 came out then followed those steps. I have not had one issue with this method.

    Maybe you should try to download the files again, you may have gotten a corrupt one. I had to download mine over wifi, for some reason 3G wouldn't get it the whole file.
     
  11. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    Just do it. Its easy. Trust me
     
  12. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    84
    9
    16
    Montana

    Downloaded from 3 mirrors over wifi... the only thing I can notice is my radio is 07p and he calls for 12p, but don't know how to get that.
     
  13. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
  14. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    you get the .12 radio when you load GB, it is the biggest part of the upgrade that you don't visually see
    *edit* dammit Coug, you know I'm hung over today. not really, but I should be....beat me to the post
     
  15. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    84
    9
    16
    Montana
    Thanks Cougar.
    I got more answers here than any other places. OK I can do the linux CD OK. I have a back up with D2 Bootstrap and Titanium so if it fails I can always restore right? Then as I see it all my apps including the paid ones will re install themselves from the market, right? I hate to sound so nervous but my DX is working pretty good and can't afford to brick it.


    Thanks again for your time.
     
  16. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Some apps you may have to manually put back in yourself but yes, your apps will reinstall on there own. And it is ALWAYS recommended you start with a full battery and a good solid backup in case anything should go wrong.
     
  17. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    was i spot on here or what? lol :D
     
  18. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Yup! Shoulda known.

    Anyway, thanks to all for the replies. Basically, we may or may not get a one touch root for the OTA. Sadly, I took the OTA and I'm not sure if there is a way to go back to Froyo to try P3's rooted version. I thought in the days leading up to the OTA, he made a comment that it was possible to revert, but I haven't seen mention of it since. I guess I can search to see if that's still possible.
     
  19. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    you can SBF back to stock Froyo
     

Share This Page

Loading...