1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Amazon Appstore said app was incompatible - workaround

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Cramill, May 31, 2011.

  1. Cramill

    Cramill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    203
    19
    38
    Software Developer
    Arizona
    This is just an FYI if other people encounter the same thing.

    So, today Plants vs Zombies is free on the Amazon Appstore today. I opened the app and tried to "purchase" the app directly on my phone, and the app wouldn't let me because it said the app was incompatible with my device (the Slide). So, to get around this I opened the amazon appstore on a computer, "purchased" the app there (in quotes because it was a free app).

    Then, when I open the Appstore App on my phone and go to the "My Apps" section, Plants vs Zombies is there and I could download it and install it on my phone.

    The game works great and I haven't noticed any issues with it working yet. (One tiny small issue though - when I first opened the app there was a text entry box that appeared and it looked as if it should have had words like "enter a username" or something like that, but it was just a black box with a text entry field below it - I just entered a username and the game used it)
     

    Advertisement

  2. the1who

    the1who Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    193
    23
    38
    Avionics Tech
    Kansas
    The username text entry field was the same on the Vibrant, so I would say not Slide related.
     
  3. Cramill

    Cramill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    203
    19
    38
    Software Developer
    Arizona
    Good to know.

    Yeah, I doubt this workaround will work for all apps that the Amazon Appstore says are incompatible, but its worth a try.
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,473
    Posts:
    23,048
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,048
    9,920
    1,473
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    moved to application forum:D
     
  5. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    861
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    861
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    The text entry box worked fine on Honeycomb, I do believe it was a username request.
     

Share This Page

Loading...