1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

AMD for Windows pc

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Rgarner, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    544
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    544
    41
    88
    I have the opportunity to install an AMD Athlon 64 X2 dual core processor in this Intel machine, a Dell Inspiron laptop about 5 or 6 years old. The only problem is I don't know how. Why do I get the feeling that it might be similar to putting a jet engine in a Geo Metro to win the Indy 500? Would they be compatible? Would I be wasting a perfectly good (I think) processor? It's still in the box, although it has been opened.
     

    Advertisement

  2. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #211
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    170
    74
    63
    If it is an actual Intel cpu in the laptop now then no you can't replace it with the Amd. They use a completely different socket so you would also have to replace the motherboard which with most laptops isn't worth the Hassel if it can even be done.
     
    rootabaga, Rgarner and kate like this.
  3. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    544
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    544
    41
    88
    Yeah, that's what I thought. It's a Pentium dual core T4200 @ 2.00 ghz X64 and 32 bits with 3 gb of installed ram. It also says that no pen or touch input is available for it, as if I didn't know that. It's kinda clunky but I guess I'm stuck with it for now.
     
  4. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #211
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    170
    74
    63
    About the only thing you could easily upgrade is the memory and hard drive then.
     
    Rgarner likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...