1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

An app or mod to turn off key lights

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by raptorjesus, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. raptorjesus

    raptorjesus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    Greeting everyone.

    I recently got an Android and I also recently decided to root and stick a custom ROM on it. Everything went fine and dandy with that and I'm currently on Cryanogen 9 Alpha ROM (it's spectacular to say the least).

    On the default ROM you could choose to turn off the key lights (I'm talking about the touch keys on both sides of "the master button"). However, neither does Cryanogen 7 or 9 offer me this option and because I'm so used to it, lights seem weird and unnecessary.

    So, after searching the interwebz for a while, I couldn't find anything useful and hence my post.

    Thanks in advance for any help given.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    No special app needed. Settings-display-touch key light settings. Set to off. Job done.
     
    raptorjesus likes this.
  3. raptorjesus

    raptorjesus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    Unfortunately there is no such option in the Cryagonen 9.
     
  4. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Is Cryagonen an actual rom or are we trying to talk about Cyanogen? I believe Cyanogen is based off stock android, whereas some other custom roms (like CheckROM RevoHD) are based off Samsung's Touchwiz. I also believe Touchwiz has the display option you're talking about, whereas stock android does not (which is silly).

    However, this thread should solve your problem for CM7 (not sure if it works for CM9, but you can always try).
     
    raptorjesus likes this.
  5. raptorjesus

    raptorjesus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    My apologies, I meant Cyanogen all along but I keep spelling it wrong. You're right in both cases and I used this option whenever I still had TouchWiz.

    Thanks for the link and I'll check it out shortly.

    EDIT: As it turns out, CM9 doesn't have this option and it has pretty limited settings in general. But then again, what more can you expect in early alpha, right?!?

    Thanks a lot anyway and I'll keep looking.
     

Share This Page

Loading...