1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root An awesome little modification I just noticed in CyanogenMod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shadowdude777, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Weren't you guys tired of seeing the USB Debugging notification always around? I was, I kept hitting it by accident when I wanted to mount my SD Card. I just realized that the Debugging notification is no longer ongoing in CyanogenMod! I don't know if that's only part of 5.0.5.4 (I just upgraded to it) or if I just never noticed it until now, but it's definitely appreciated! :)
     

    Advertisement

    shrink57 likes this.
  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    I haven't tried the new ROM yet but that is one fix I would love to see Incorporated in all the developer's new ROMs or at least find instructions on how to do it myself.
     
  3. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    cant you just disable it in settings?
     
  4. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Looked high and low. What setting?
     
  5. ssantan2

    ssantan2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    352
    20
    38
    you cant disable it in settings but I have noticed that in 5.0.5. never been a big deal for me but I know some people wanted that feature
     
  6. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    It was always just one of those annoying little things that :mad: pissed off :mad: control freaks like me.
     
  7. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Huh... "USB debugging notify" DEFINITELY was not there when I was on 5.0.5.3. I am absolutely positive of that. But yeah, as Neil said, all of the devs should be getting rid of the USB debugging notification or setting it to non-ongoing. It was a stupid idea to leave it ongoing. YES WE KNOW IT IS ENABLED, NO WE DO NOT WANT TO DISABLE IT THANK YOU.

    And seriously, are these people doing anything BESIDES developing? I just upgraded ClockworkMod this morning and went into ROM Manager saying "it'd be funny if I found another update" and there was another update. Not that I'm complaining at all! I'm amazed at the speed and vigor with which Koush and Cyanogen are working. :)
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    All these new releases keep things fun and exciting. I wish they would focus more on solving ongoing problems (it seems like with each new innovation in ROM Manager three things get broken) but hey, it is our choice to remain on the cutting edge ;) Now where did I put my Tylanols...
     
  9. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    I feel like Cyanogen is one of the most stable ROMs I've used to date, actually. I know it was far from that before, but it seems to have come a long way now; I don't feel like I'm using an experimental ROM at all.
     
  10. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    I agree. The problem is the less experienced mixing and matching (yea, I have done that to) getting in over their heads. All the new features of programs like ROM Manager are really making it too easy to mess things up at the touch of a button. Then, the rug is pulled up out when ROM Manager can't clean up the mess. Nothing that a few adb commands won't correct, but for those that haven't been there before, intimidating (as you can see by at least half of the new threads here). Just read a recent thread. The OP was asked what ROM they are using (they just rooted).
    The response: "What is a ROM?" Yikes!!!!!
     
  11. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Well yes, I agree that it's pretty easy to mess up with ROM Manager, but you have to note two things:

    1) Messing up and then being forced to fix your mistakes is the best way to learn; it's how I did it with computers! Plus, we have RSD Lite so it's impossible to completely mess up.
    2) ROM Manager seems to have been designed more as an easy-to-use utility for those of us that want bleeding-edge so we don't have to go through the long processes of updating ROMs and recoveries by ourselves every day; DMUpdater might be for new users, but ROM Manager seems to be more advanced. I don't like how easy it is to check off "wipe data and cache" after you download a ROM or worse, a kernel. Cause some unsuspecting user might press that and be left with a kernel and no data partition.
     
  12. icstars989

    icstars989 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

  13. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yes, but some of us want to keep USB Debugging enabled without the stupid notification telling us that a setting we know we turned on is on.
     
  14. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    I saw that too, in a thread, but what else has changed.. I am running 5.0.5.3 with NexTheme, pretty happy with it, nt in a rush to switch ROMs. tough to find a change log for what Koush does to his ROMs, but I will say that 5.0.5.3 is much better then 5.0.4.x was..

    I have not really had issues with 5.0.5.3, so I am not in any rush for the next version, but I do like the notification flag removal/ignore
     
  15. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    A far as I can see, this is the change log:

    "---- 5.0.5.4-Droid
    * Add bash, irssi, nano, htop and other binaries that were missing from the previous release."

    Koush is a man of few words...

    And as stated by Shadowdude777, the issue is not turning off debugging, it's keeping it on without notification.
     
  16. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    yeah, the notification being off/ignored would be nice.. I will wait for 5.0.5.4 NexTheme then.. LOL
     
  17. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    several of us on the Cyanogenmod forum have had success in updating to 5.0.5.4 then applying nextheme over it. i did it about 20 minutes ago and it was painless.
     
  18. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    so then 5.0.5.4 and then the NexTheme 2.0.1 form the download rom section of the manager?

    I just changed Kernels this AM, so I will run that today and see how it works, then I might switch and update tomorrow
     
  19. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    you are correct. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...