1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Andoid Installing new app creates new page where shortcut is placed

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Flor, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. Flor

    Flor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018

    Jan 12, 2018
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Hello everyone I hope somebody can help me with my problem

    I have a Android 7.0 on my Samsung Galaxy S7

    When I install a new app the shortcut should appear on my home screen, as set in the google play settings. But it doesn´t!

    My home screen is centered in the middle. It has this small "house" symbol. As shown below.
    upload_2018-1-12_21-16-12.png

    But my Android is adding the shortcut on a new page on the very right side. As marked in red!
    When I install another app, then this shortcut will also be added to the same new page... (andoid is not opening a fifth page!

    so somehow it's thinks that there's no home page / start page existing? I don't know...

    I just repeat: I don't want to deactivate the Google Play function that there will be added a shortcut to the home page. But it should not be created on the new page but to the existing home page.

    Best regards
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,891
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,891
    15,115
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Can you manually add an icon to your home page, or move the new one to it?

    The last time I used Samsung's Touchwiz Home launcher it had this annoying thing where it reserved part of the screen for widgets and part for app launchers. If yours is like that then it might have less space on your home page than you think (or if the widget I can see is really larger than it appears, i.e. some of the space is reserved by that widget). If there is no space on the home screen then creating a new page is what I'd expect, so seeing whether you can move the icon there manually is one way of checking.
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Even my Nexus 6 did that - it would not populate the main screen, but create icons for installed apps on a new page.

    2 fixes:

    1) Move it back to the main screen if you want to - empty pages disappear as soon as you move the last icon off them.

    2) Do like I do - go into Google Play and uncheck the setting to create desktop icons in the first place. - but you said you don't want to do this, so....
     
    Daniel Fernandes likes this.
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,339
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,339
    13,402
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    FWIW my Oppo doesn't do that, it puts newly installed icon apps in the next available space, and only creates a new launcher page if there's no available space.
     
  5. Flor

    Flor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018

    Jan 12, 2018
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Hi all :)
    thanks for trying to help.

    @haron: I have doublechecked. There is definitly enough space on my home screen.
    @johnlgalt: I have done this. But i´m not satisfied with this workaround.
    @mikedt: That is how it should be, i guess. And i´m used to it, too. But now there is curious behavior.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,891
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,891
    15,115
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't know whether a different launcher would make a difference? It's the launcher that provides and controls the homescreen, so I would think it might.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  7. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,091
    1,568
    743
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    It's definitely a launcher issue.
    Use Nova launcher and you'll be fine
     
    Daniel Fernandes likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...