1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android 2.1 Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by he6rt6gr6m, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Hmm, when the UK one comes out, will we be able to update to it? cause its a bit odd with Russian firmware, and im sure my warranty is voided. And we all know the LGUpdateTool won't help..


     

    Advertisement

  2. he6rt6gr6m

    he6rt6gr6m Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    65
    13
    38
    Blackburn, UK
  3. Pennywis3

    Pennywis3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    66
    0
    15
    Slovenia
    great :)

    Would be nice also if the LG update tool could do the job.
     
  4. gtr33m

    gtr33m Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Any idea when Australia will be out
     
  5. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16

    I would like to know this too, and is there a New Zealand based 2.1 ??

    also, what is differant from the Roms from Baltics compared to the UK roms??, Im running baltics right now would i be better suited to the UK rom? or wait for a Australian rom or New Zealand Rom?? Sorry guys for the really n00b questions, But i will appreciate any feedback!
     
  6. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    My phone isn't locked on a network, if I update to this ROM, will my phone be locked onto Vodafone? or will there be a ROM for unlocked UK phones?

     
  7. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16

    Nope, is didnt lock me to a network, But it does brand the phone some what, the startup logo pops up with the ugly "vodafone" logo
     
  8. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Ah okay, i think i'll just wait for a no brand or O2 ROM to come out :p

     
  9. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Wait if you wish, but i have noticed that the UK version has voice to text enabled!, not that it works all too good on my New Zealand accent haha
     
  10. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    haha, i have noticed that this russian firmware is a bit buggy, i think i'll just update again :p

     
  11. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    ARGHH i tried updating my phone to the vodafone ROM and something happened during the update, it came up with the usual stuff in the log underneath the long bar but then it froze for a while, then my laptop BlueScreened! AND NOW MY PHONE IS BRICKED!! when i switch it on it shows the LG logo, then the Vodafone logo then thats it, just freezes there, i tried updating with the KDZ updator but its not working, i tried in both download mode and just switching it on, please help me!
     
  12. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16

    Download this flash prog, KDZ_FW_UPD English version - xda-developers Its better thant the one supplied here, and english, it should fix the fone
     
  13. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Thanks mate, but i fixed it last night, about 45 mins after i bricked it, i tried using the LGUpdate Tool but it didnt work, so i kept trying with the KDZ updater and it worked! I think it worked because the LGUpdate Tool installed 2 new drivers and now it's working, i'll check out that English version. Thanks :D

     
  14. Syberia

    Syberia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    5
    2
    6
    matrox02 likes this.
  15. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Though, how do i get a link to download that firmware/kdz file??
     
  16. Syberia

    Syberia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    5
    2
    6
  17. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16
  18. Pennywis3

    Pennywis3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    66
    0
    15
    Slovenia
    We realy need more feedback from these rom's.
    I wonder why it is not possible to revert back to 1.6 if anything goes wrong, does anyone know this? It's a bit risky to upgrade to 2.1 since many people are having problems with it and later cant downgrade to 1.6. I'm not upgrading till we have this issue solved :)
    Does anyone have the original 1.6 firmware?
     
  19. Syberia

    Syberia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    5
    2
    6
    At a reinsertion the loader on it changes will roll away phone back there is no possibility! 1.6 it is possible to find an original insertion but in phone you it not to stitch in any way.
    Already practically month I use 2.1 and any problems, phone simply flies.
    On 1.6 to come back there is no desire.
     
  20. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Right My feedback for the Aus Firmware v20c, is that it works fine, it was a little spastic for a while with it crashing and having major problems with the signal, but i reset the phone to defaults and its been fine since, my only problem i have with this firmware is now the lock screen has this stupid "emergency calls" button right above the slider, making it fairly easy for a false emergency call to happen quite easily, I wunno know how to get rid of the button but havnt found a way to do so yet!
     
    Pennywis3 likes this.
  21. Pennywis3

    Pennywis3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    66
    0
    15
    Slovenia
    Thats great news since the Australian v20c is one of the last firmwares.
    I was thinking of flashing this one also.

    Did it brand your phone maybe? Or is it a brandless firmware?
    Are there any apps preinstalled?
    Did you try rooting it?
    Do Live Wallpapers work?

    Thanks for the info :)
     
  22. matrox02

    matrox02 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Ill list whats in the menu, coz i dunno if any of it is any "add-on"

    App advisor, Browser, Calculator, Calendar,
    Camera, Clock, Contactrs, Email, Facebook for LG,fm radio, gallery, google mail, home selector, java downloads, latitude, maps, market, media player, messaging, music, navigation, ndrive,phone,places,quickoffice,rss reader,settings,sim toolkit,talk,twitter for lg, video editor, voice recorder,voice search, youtube,

    otherwise it was REALLY easy to root, i used a batch file from xda, and i havnt used the live wall paper feature, otherwise there is hand writing features enabled for text's/sms
     
    Pennywis3 likes this.
  23. Pennywis3

    Pennywis3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    66
    0
    15
    Slovenia
    Thanks a lot for the feedback matrox02!

    Judging by your installed apps this is probably not a branded firmware.
    I hope the phone feels as snapy as the 1.6 version, because the speed in 1.6 was just incredible.
    Probably gonna flash this one myself :)
     
  24. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    I don't know if it'll revert you back to 1.6, but when I plugged my phone into my laptop and opened the LG PC Suite and it said there was an update available for the phone. I think it could be the suite getting confused with the 2.1 update so it thinks 1.6 will be a new update. If someone tries it?
     
  25. AussieOutsider

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Okay, this might seem like a silly question but...

    I have a GT540F that I purchased through 3 Mobile here in Australia, can I still flash the phone to the V20C Australian ROM that's on here? What will I lose if I do so and what disadvantages do I have if I do flash it with the non Hutchison ROM?

    Would It be better to wait till the 3 Mobile 2.1 ROM comes out?
     

Share This Page

Loading...