1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Android 2.3.6 ota is here. Just downloaded mine

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dmcincubus, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. dmcincubus

    dmcincubus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    And that is all. Haven't checked to see if the security issue is fixed, I'll check that now.



    Edit: screen lock is fixed! I like the blue overscroll.
     

    Advertisement

  2. PfcBgd

    PfcBgd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    56
    8
    16
    Where did you get it? I just checked Keys, and it's telling I have the latest firmware (2.3.4)?
     
  3. dmcincubus

    dmcincubus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    It's over the air. Settings and then go to software update.
     
  4. iHuman

    iHuman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    30
    4
    16
    Is it just me, or is homescreen scrolling not as responsive as usual?

    EDIT: Never mind, I just needed to wait a little while for the software to settle in. There are no issues now.
     
  5. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    Just got it as well, worked fine. I was rooted also
     
  6. Avg Joe 6pack

    Avg Joe 6pack Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hrm. Im rooted and it wouldnt install for me. It downloaded, then said it needed to reboot to install...It rebooted, I saw a white screen that said installing update, then about 10 seconds later, home screen came up and a msg said unable to installl update

    Ahh well.
     
  7. gmikesell

    gmikesell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    19
    10
    38
    How long did the update take to install?
     
  8. gmikesell

    gmikesell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    19
    10
    38
    I'm rooted and I just tried to install the update. After downloading, it wanted to do a reboot to begin the install and then after the reboot said "installation interrupted, cannot install at this time". That's it. What a bummer.
     
  9. gmikesell

    gmikesell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    19
    10
    38
    After unrooting my phone, it took about 6-7 minutes to complete install. Whew!
     
  10. Que1999

    Que1999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    .... No update available for me. :(... Now I gotta wait 24 hours to check again.... Wonder whats up with that??..
     
  11. dmcincubus

    dmcincubus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I will say the white att screen stayed on for about 3-4 minutes. The so don't think the phone froze on ya.
     
  12. pkoutoul

    pkoutoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    87
    11
    18
    Just updated mine with no problems. Where can we go to see what changed with this release?
     
  13. rmreid

    rmreid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #352
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    331
    38
    43
    Male
    Western, TN
    Since I haven't received the update yet, I was hoping to understand what some of the bug fixes were as well
     
  14. schwenger

    schwenger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    57
    13
    18
    Hudson Valley, New York
    This.
     
  15. markzolotoy

    markzolotoy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    41
    2
    16
    I have checked mine and it says no updates available. Why is that?
     
  16. schwenger

    schwenger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    57
    13
    18
    Hudson Valley, New York
    They're probably only doing a few thousand phones at a time so it doesn't overload their system and/or they're incompetent.
     
  17. rmreid

    rmreid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #352
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    331
    38
    43
    Male
    Western, TN
    No worries, just means that the update has not been pushed out to your phone yet, which is my status as well
     
  18. Pepe7698

    Pepe7698 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    86
    12
    18
    Automotive Sales
    Houston
    Downloaded and done. I haven't really seen what the difference is, does anyone know if they have released a changelog?

    On a side note, I wonder if this had anything to do with the mysteriously vanishing update my phone tried to download two days ago?
     
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,337
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,337
    33,925
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    FYI, OTA updates are assigned regionally by the carrier and cycles every few days. If you are in a region that has the OTA available and you miss it the first time around, you can just wait until the notice rolls back in a few days. Manually checking once the update is available in your region will expedite the update.
     
  20. schwenger

    schwenger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    57
    13
    18
    Hudson Valley, New York
    Did not know that. Ppdates to my moto droid didn't appear that it was assigned by area because I knew a few people that lived near me that had the update and I didn't. This was a few years ago.
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,337
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,337
    33,925
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I believe they also assign it by IMEI number so they can pinpoint the right model on their networks. This can also cause a delay in the same region, or even let a device slip through the cracks.
     
  22. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    if it said unavailable you can manually move your time forward one day and try again, it should show up then.

    as for the new updates, one was removing home button lag, so double pressing doesnt take you to vlingo anymore. there were a few bug fixes and battery improvements also. someone on xda posted everything they fixed, dont remember where it was though
     
  23. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    519
    110
    93
    Male
    Chicago
    No update here but my brother who has the same phone and lives a mile from me has the update. Weird.
     
  24. hyp3rdr1v3

    hyp3rdr1v3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    So anything noticeably updated? Verdict seems to be blue overscroll and some bug fixes
     
  25. j510

    j510 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    93
    8
    16
    It says a warning on the screen now when you turn your media volume too high with headphones on
     

Share This Page

Loading...