1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Support Android 2.3 - SD card apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lauryn.carrier, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. lauryn.carrier

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I updated my phone to Android 2.3 this morning. My apps that I have on my SD card are now not working. Is there a way to remedy this? Thanks!

    If it matters, I'm using a Droid Incredible.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    232
    28
    43
    Film Buyer
    Yes....

    This is what I did....

    I umounted my SD card.... Then remounted the SD card (This is located in Settings> SD card and Storage> Unmount, Remount)

    Once the card was remounted properly, all my app's that were on the SD card appeared and worked fine.

    Then I moved all the app's that I had on the SD card back over to the phone (off the card).

    Once everything was moved off the card, I did a power down reboot (power down and pulled the battery).

    Once the phone booted up, I then moved a couple of app's back to the sd card to test. Powered down again and battery pulled.

    Booted the phone back up and although it took a few minutes the moved apps to sd card appeared and worked fine.

    I then moved all the app's to the card (rebooted with a battery pull) and they seem to be all there and ok.

    The question is now the downloading of new app's... if you download a new app and place it on the card, does the above have to be done to get the app to show.

    Lego
     
    jennyrobot likes this.
  3. lauryn.carrier

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks a lot! This seems to have fixed the problem.
     
  4. homer2210

    homer2210 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I just had to unmount and then remount, no powering down. It worked.
     
  5. lauryn.carrier

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I had to do a combination of unmounting, mounting and powering down before I could get it to recognize the apps. I switched them all over to the phone. I tried to test it and just put a couple apps on the SD card but they became useless again so I switched them back over. Not ideal, but at least I can access those apps now.
     
  6. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,599
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,599
    8,196
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    jennyrobot likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...