1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android 4.4 (KitKat) help/discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kylecummins, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. kylecummins

    kylecummins Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    841
    160
    93
    Union Member
    Canada

    Advertisement

    Oc1paddler, Hadron and marctronixx like this.
  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,068
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,068
    13,101
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You won't be forced to use Hangouts. This article I think casts a little light: KitKat SMS Situation Revisited: New SMS Rules Ensure There Is One App In Charge Of Your Messaging History, But Everything Else Is OK

    If I've read it right, KitKat's changes include setting one messaging app as "default", message handler, but any qualified app can request to be default. So there's nothing to stop you making the HTC message app the default if you prefer (or Hancent, Chomp etc I assume, once all of these are updated for 4.4). I'd expect other apps can view messages, and that you can send from other apps. So while Google may just bundle Hangouts as a single messaging solution, there's nothing to stop HTC keeping a separate SMS/MMS app (whether Google will provide the APIs to let you use Hangouts messaging from another app I don't know).
     
    MoshuXXL and marctronixx like this.
  3. ktg13

    ktg13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013

    Sep 20, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Whoa Hadron. I just missed typed your user name. It's funny what happens when you mix a couple letters up...But I digress.

    Anyway the glitches are that web pages close without warning or freeze up. Sometimes I can't press radio buttons and it is impossible to manually insert my curser where I want. Instead I have to use the volume buttons.

    You are right. The software download option is back today and I'm in progress. I think it may be actually working this time because the wait time is a lot longer. I've got 2 minutes left. Fingers crossed...and it seems to be installing now! Yay! Patience does work!!!

    I've noticed a few cool updates but I was hoping for more.
    -The best is you can now turn Blink Feed Off meaning you can make it go away completely! Great move HTC!
    -The google now feature works better. You no longer have to press the mike to speak.
    -There is an emoji addition to the keyboard but it is still not swipeable. If you have Kii, then you can swipe but you can't have the emojis. Frustrating.
     
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,138
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,138
    3,792
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    thread has been trimmed of old outdated posts now that 4.4 is rolling out. please keep chatter to a minimum on on topic. :)

    @kth13, those "features" you speak about are already out on 4.3/sense 5.5. thats not new or specific in 4.4.
     
  5. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Running KitKat now and no you don't need to use Hangouts, the Message app is still there and works fine.

    It's still Sense 5.5 and there's very minimal design changes.
     
    Adar likes this.
  6. henryka

    henryka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    Norway
    I got 4.4.2 and Sense 5.5 OTA today in Norway

    I can’t see the big changes yet. The fonts and design of the PIN-code menu has changed. Under NFC there are option for using it to pay. I don't remember seeing that before.
    It’s to early so say anything about the battery. I have had it for just a few hours.
     
  7. godzilla932

    godzilla932 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    58
    16
    18
    Can you let us know how you like it and what changes do you see ? Has it done anything to your battery life

    Ok I don't know what I was thinking when I asked about the battery, after you've had it for awhile let us know how you feel about your battery life. Thanks
     
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,138
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,138
    3,792
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
  9. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    319
    37
    63
    I just downloaded and installed the update for my Sprint HTC One. According to Google, the following feature is present:

    "Just say “Ok Google”
    You don’t need to touch the screen to get things done. When on your home screen* or in Google Now, just say “Ok Google” to launch voice search, send a text, get directions or even play a song"

    Android - 4.4 KitKat

    This does not work for me AT ALL. If I'm on my home screen and say "Ok Google", absolutely nothing happens. If I'm in Google Now and say "Ok Google", it recognizes it and starts listening, but not matter what I say, it just does a web search for it. So, if I say, "Ok Google, text Paul", it will search the web for "test Paul". If I say "Ok Google, play Pearl Jam - Even Flo", it will search the web for Even Flo.

    Is anybody else having this problem?

    Honestly, this is the only supposed feature in Kit Kat that really impresses me, and it isn't even working.

    Edit - Okay, just before submitting I saw the fine print where it only works on the home screen on the Nexus 5. That's dumb, but whatever. The other features should still work inside of Google Now, but don't, at least for me.
     
  10. ProAc_Fan

    ProAc_Fan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    13
    0
    35
    Hmm I tried out the google now myself and it worked great for text, email and phone calls. I didn't say OK Google before using the voice feature though.

    EDIT:

    I've had the problem with the noise cancelling microphone since day one with my One. I've been forced to use speakerphone , had to forego sound with videos or using google now. Updated to 4.4 this morning and my problem disappeared. That microphone is now static free and works great.


    Mike
     
  11. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I just intalled the update on Sprint. I open up Google Now, say OK Google then Text (Insert Name) and it asks me to set up Contact search and then it finds my person and let's me dictate a text and send it. It works great for me.
     
  12. rottonj

    rottonj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    113
    48
    53
    Male
    Manager
    USA, Connecticut
    Downloaded Kit Kat for Sprint, stock non rooted. The music has a visualizer with the lyrics. This is new I think, love it. Movies have closed captioning as well,gonna try that out too I have a couple of icons on my home screen now, they are the green android icon, one says people and one says phone. Both say app has not been installed. I have to look into these. Still using the Nova launcher, as I don't use sense.
     
  13. godzilla932

    godzilla932 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    58
    16
    18
    Forbes
    Home
    New Posts
    Popular

    Gordon Kelly, Contributor
    I write about tech's most exciting companies, be they big or small. FULL BIO
    TECH 1/09/2014 @ 1:33PM |60,953 views
    Google Experience Launcher - An Easy Hack To Get The Look Of The Nexus 5 On Any Android Phone Or Tablet
    19 Comments Share
    One of the best surprises in Android 4.4 Kitkat was the inclusion of Android RunTime or â
     
  14. rottonj

    rottonj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    113
    48
    53
    Male
    Manager
    USA, Connecticut
    Thanks, I don't know about custom icons so I don't think I am using them. I'm thinking these could possibly be features not offered with this phone, maybe for Nexus 5?
     
  15. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    208
    93
    53
    I don't see any major improvement in the camera. Granted, I don't do a lot with it, but I have noticed I still have the purple tint in semi-low light conditions, which is annoying. When I say semi-low light, I mean, in my livingroom with just one light on, which I think barely qualifies as low light.

    Of course, I also haven't had any other issues with the camera, so I'm not sure whether it made improvements or not. In another thread, I just now realized they removed the zoom bars, and now it just uses pinch to zoom, which apparently has been that way since at least 4.3 :)
     
  16. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    I use my own build and same Google Apps package, same launcher, between tablet and phone. One works, the Nexus 10, and the other, the One, doesn't
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,068
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,068
    13,101
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I thought that was a hardware issue which affects some handsets. I don't expect anything other than replacement to fix that one.
     
    marctronixx and MoshuXXL like this.
  18. jiggy79

    jiggy79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    121
    4
    36
    has anyone noticed their battery use decline dramatically, my battery sucks now all from this kitkat upgrade. Do you think a factory reset will fix it?
     
  19. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Yeah I think it was due to the Google Services, seems to be fixed in 4.4.2.
     
  20. sully5981

    sully5981 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    173
    21
    38
    Initial thoughts, lock screen widgets/dock widgets were messed up (i run nova) but it was a quick fix. Also I'm not a fan of the battery bar up top going white. I liked it better when it was green. It looks like a 1990's video camera battery status bar. Also there is new security certificate features s which I liked but it said foxfi is bad(it does intercept traffic). So far I can't really tell much difference.
     
  21. ckar

    ckar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    111
    7
    36
    San Diego
    HELP! The day after update I'm getting the SIM icon with an exclamation point in my notification bar and losing all connectivity! Anyone else having this issue? :mad:
     
  22. jiggy79

    jiggy79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    121
    4
    36
    Nope mine is still turned on, is their a way to revert back to the previous android version (ice cream?). Maybe a root of the previous version would do the trick, my battery life sucks major..before the update I had no problems with the battery and it would last me all day long with ease.
     
  23. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    Google around for HTC guru and his stock ROMs. I used one to go back to the stock 4.1.2 to get s-off
     
  24. speedfan

    speedfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    96
    26
    23
    Nashville, TN

    Does anyone know how to disable this?
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,068
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,068
    13,101
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If you don't want the widgets, don't use it and you'll never notice.

    If you want the old lockscreen then that's not a matter of disabling but replacement. Probably not possible without root, cannot guarantee it would work without downgrading as I've not tried. You could try a 3rd party like WidgetLocker if you don't like the new version.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...