1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Android 4.4 (KitKat) help/discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kylecummins, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,727
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,727
    12,648
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yeah, could be. Over here silly numbers of texts are included in most tarrifs, so that's not an issue for most.
     

    Advertisement

  2. fastfinga

    fastfinga Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Female
    Retired Postal Worker
    BRAINZ2013, I took your advice and did a factory reset and things seem to be working well. The factory reset was like repair of a computer os UGH! but all's well that ends well.

    Thanks BRAINZ2013 for your help.
     
  3. jamcon

    jamcon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    Crawley, West Sussex, UK
    Downloaded Kitkat today, is it me or can I see absolutely no difference? What a waste of hype! Annoyingly, the colour aspect of my battery notification bar at the top is now a dull white rather then the nice colours it used to be.:mad:
     
    MoshuXXL likes this.
  4. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    349
    37
    63
    Male
    Systems Analyst
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
    The last 3 Android releases have brought little more than yawns from me... But I still clamor for them when they are announced.

    With the name change I was expecting more from this one.
     
  5. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,893
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    I hate "me too" posts, but I'm looking for the "yawn" button too. We gain an inconsequential amount of free RAM and get a few minor paint touch-ups. Not worth the effort.

    We'll see if the new one this summer is Lemon Drop or Let's Yawn Again.
     
  6. portsider

    portsider Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    23
    5
    36
    I am a custom framer. (pictures, shadowboxes,.....
    north little rock, arkansas
    Yeah. Don't see much to get excited about with this update. One thing that I was pleasantly surprised at, is that the 'app ops' app that was pulled from google play an o.s. version ago (that I sideloaded back onto the device) works perfectly. Rumor had it that this incredibly useful app would be nullified with Kit Kat. That's a plus.
     
  7. lord craig

    lord craig Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    downloaded the new kitkat on monday now i am unable to sync my Google calendar :thumbdown: anybody else having trouble syncing there calendar?

    Htc say i should do a factory reset on my mobile to sort out problem with my calendar
     
  8. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Try and resynchronize the Google account it may have a red flag check and uncheck the box til it sync.

    Yeah a factory reset should have been done soon as the update finished and reboot I would do it one last time aka extra cause it settle all problems
     
  9. AlienZombieEater

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014

    Feb 18, 2014
    5
    1
    6
    Tampa, FL
    I had the same issue with my calendar. It was a pain but a factory reset worked. It doesn't sound like the software is updating correctly if you have to factory reset...
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. rgs

    rgs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    103
    12
    38
    Computers
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Portsider,

    What is the app ops app?

    My impression is the battery life shows a definite improvement.
     
    MoshuXXL likes this.
  11. will_bmx

    will_bmx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014

    Feb 26, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Hi all, first post on the forum and hopefully it's not a stupid one (I fear it may be). I'm not a moron and I'm pretty tech minded (to a point!) but this update to Kitkat? It's been hyped and hyped and I've now got it and it's just nothing new. I understand there are background improvements which is great, but I was expecting a new interface from the reviews and clips i'd seen in advance?! HTC have confirmed to me it's correct and there is no interface change, so for my peace of mind please can someone tell me what the screen on the left is showing compared to the right on this pic below? as I was under the impression the left side was the new kitkat and the right was the old jellybean?

    Oh, and in the reviews they were also using "ok google" on their homescreen on their HTC one that looked like the one of the left?

    Thanks in advance,

    Will

    This is the pic.

    http://www.updatemyandroid.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/htc-one-android4.4kitkatupdate.jpg
     
  12. MoshuXXL

    MoshuXXL Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,292
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    20
    13
    18
    Male
    Economist
    Bucharest, Romania
    I think the left phone is a Google Play Edition and the right phone is a Sense Edition. That's why they look so different, not because of the update.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,727
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,727
    12,648
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Correct. That's GPE vs Sense, not 4.4 vs 4.1/2/3.

    Of course you can have a homepage like that by just installing a launcher app, on any Android version :)
     
  14. will_bmx

    will_bmx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014

    Feb 26, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    Ah brilliant, cheers guys!

    How naff does Sense look compared to GPE?!
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,727
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,727
    12,648
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well Sense doesn't have to look like that either. You can use different clocks, wallpapers, widgets, collect your apps into folders. And if I'm honest I don't think much of the stock android icons, as used in the GPE ROM (I've always thought that phone icon was ugly since ICS was first released).

    But that's one of the things about Android - anything you don't like the look of, you can change. :)
     
  16. will_bmx

    will_bmx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014

    Feb 26, 2014
    8
    1
    6
    True, I have adapted it far more to my liking with all those things mentioned, apart from I didn't know you could change the launcher until last night (and again you mentioned it today) which changes the whole feel. Are there any other things you could recommend to change the way it feels? Launchers, lock screens maybe? although they all seem laggy and unsecure.

    Cheers for the help guys, a warm welcome indeed!
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,727
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,727
    12,648
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    There are replacement lock screens as well - I have a copy of WidgetLocker installed, though at the moment I'm using the Sense lockscreen. Never had anything feel laggy on my phone though.

    As for customisation, it depends on how far you want to go. Some of the popular launchers allow you to use alternative icon themes, which change the look of many or all of your icons on your homescreens and app drawers, or customise individual icons on the homescreen. You'll find a lot of examples in the "post your homescreens" threads in many phone's sections or over in the Android Themes section of AF.

    If you want to go further, a rooted phone can change a lot of other stuff. But if you are new to it you might want to learn what that's about before deciding whether it's for you.
     
    MoshuXXL likes this.
  18. m23439

    m23439 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014

    Feb 27, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Looks like the UK roll out for the update has been aborted for now. The HTC website software update page shows status as "integration" (changed from "Push to Customer").

    I spoke to HTC Support by web chat who confirmed that it had been pulled temporarily, but would not confirm the reason.

    How many of you that updated had been having issues?

    Typical HTC??
     
  19. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    925
    880
    263
    Male
    Retired
    Llangollen, North Wales.
    Downloaded and installed 4.4.2 (4.19.401.9) on Monday. No issues up to now.

    I'm coming across various changes and have yet to decide whether each one is useful, change for change sake or a pain in the proverbial.

    A definite useful one is an apparent decrease in battery discharge rate (noticeable when in standby mode).

    :)
     
  20. Its_Red

    Its_Red Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    72
    12
    18
    Male
    Due to damaged knees whilst in the Royal Navy work
    Up a hill, Mid Wales
    I downloaded and installed it on Monday also, have had absolutely no issues whatsoever so far, but saying that I can't really see what we have gained in this version at all apart from the lose of certain features like no flash support and no alarm when device is off. You are not missing out on anything and I'm certainly not sure what all the fuss was about.
     
    MoshuXXL and tommo47 like this.
  21. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    925
    880
    263
    Male
    Retired
    Llangollen, North Wales.
    Well that's my first pain in the proverbial, I used that now and again.

    :mad:
     
  22. lythe123

    lythe123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014

    Feb 27, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I have a HTC ONE which I bought from AT&T, I had it unlocked by AT&T and now use it on T-Mobile. My question is how do I get the new Kit-Kat update. The phone still has the
     
  23. ohsincere

    ohsincere Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I updated my HTC one a day or two ago (today is Feb 27) and now when I receive texts or notifications from KIK or such, I can't hear it through my headphones (that came with the HTC) before the update I was able to

    Calls come through the headphones just fine. When I'm listening to music and receive the text, my phone shortly goes silent but doesn't make a sound. How can I fix this??

    I have android version 4.4.2
    HTC Sense 5.5 if that matters
     
  24. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #338
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    Check your sound profiles under settings if you haven't done so already. Also plug in your headphones and check settings again to see if it mutes the notification sound to protect your hearing. Just like when you have the earphones on and make it too loud it gives you a popup warning on screen..
     
  25. AlienZombieEater

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014

    Feb 18, 2014
    5
    1
    6
    Tampa, FL
    Speaking of which, anyone know how to disable that too loud popup warning? I find it incredibly annoying.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...