1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Android 6.0 Marshmallow is Here !! Post your findings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    That is not a relevant question. The environment is too complex. Changing a single character could have far raching impacts on any number of activities.

    The strategy I follow ...
    • After a minor update I always to a Wipe Cache Partition.
    • After a major update I always do a Factory Data Reset.
    ... it pays in the long run when dealing with an environment that is this complex and in which so many people have tweaked.

    ... Thom
     

    Advertisement

    #101 Thom, Dec 7, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
    androidlover9, shmn and johnnybirdman like this.
  2. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    So this is considered a large update I would assume?

    I plan on doing a factory reset after the update.
     
    Thom likes this.
  3. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    For me ... Kit Kat to Lollipop and Lollipop to Marshmallow are examples of major. I will do a Factory Data Reset after updating to Marshmallow and that will likely be a while after you install Marshmallow on your phone,

    In the past on other devices I have seen things run fine after a major upgrade. They ran fine for days, weeks, or months and then some catastrophe occurred. This didn't happen if a Factory Data Reset was done after the update.

    It was not known then that a Wipe Cache Partition was done as part of the Factory data Reset and running it would have resolved many of the issues the cropped up.

    ... Thom
     
    WeeWilly likes this.
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Well, the good news (if it really works as advertised) is that on Marshmallow apps and app DATA are backed up to Google. Ideally, you could Factory Reset and restore and it'll be like nothing ever happened. I'll let Thom be the guinea pig on that one :D
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Marshmallow on my Turbo 2 is much further into the future then what is going on here.

    I currently backup one folder by USB to my workstation that contains my developed apps, Tasker backup, Nova Launcher Prime Backup, and Pixel Phone Pro backup.

    I do the Factory Data Reset, reinstall all apps again from Play Store, restore Nova Launcher Prime, restore Tasker, and restore Pixel Phone Pro.

    There are cases where some apps may not run on the new system and my process weeds hem out daring the Play Store reinstalls. This way I get to deal with them now instead of finding out about them at some inconvenient time in the future.

    ... Thom
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  6. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    I'll just manually reinstall all the apps I need since I don't use that many and they all save my data with their respective accounts, I think I want to start with a clean slate since that apps randomly create folders on my phone and I don't know why, they do that to my SD card too :S (all I want to use my SD card is for pictures)
     
    Thom likes this.
  7. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    This is off topic, but is it possible to back up my Textra settings without installing another app?
     
  8. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    chompSMS allows backup/restore of settings.
    Textra does not allow backup/restore of settings.
    Neither provides backup/restore of SMS messages ... you must use a separate app.

    ... Thom
     
  9. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    342
    188
    88
    Law
    Erie, PA
    Get ready folks....!!!!!! uploadfromtaptalk1449614114635.png
     
  10. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
  11. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    342
    188
    88
    Law
    Erie, PA
    Ota. I am not a tester.
     
  12. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    I just checked and it says up to date :(

    Moto X Pure edition.

    Would removing my sim make a difference since I have a koodo sim and koodo is a Canadian carrier.
     
  13. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    342
    188
    88
    Law
    Erie, PA
    I'm on Verizon. Not sure on your sim question.
     
    androidlover9 likes this.
  14. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    UPDATE: I removed the sim and rebooted, checked for update and it found it :)
     
    Jfalls63 and johnnybirdman like this.
  15. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    So what other phones out there besides Nexus and Android One devices have Marshmallow?
     
  16. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,319
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,319
    3,332
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Had to pull my sim also. Downloading now
     
    androidlover9 likes this.
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Pulling it for the Darling Bride's phone now. WOO HOO :D
     
  18. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    One thing I noticed is how much snappier it is :)

    Also, they got rid of that feature where the screen lights up whenever you get a notification :(
     
  19. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,319
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,319
    3,332
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Sweet. Did the Factory Reset, got everything set back up the way I like it. Rocking Marshmallow!
     
  20. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    I should probably do so too but I don't want to lose my textra settings.
     
  21. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,061
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
  22. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    I went ahead and did a factory reset anyway :D

    One of the things that it asked me is if I wanted to also get rid of my custom wallpaper and the greeting message on boot up, why would I want to get rid of that message when I can't change it back? Lol.
     
  23. fnkngrv

    fnkngrv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015

    Oct 23, 2015
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    So what can be completely confirmed is lost when moving to MM??? I received my notification to make the upgrade earlier this evening, but I am leery since it sounds like the cool Moto features are removed??

    What I have heard so far:

    1) Does the OK Google come back and you lose your custom phrase?
    2) The screen momentarily illuminating when a notification arrives. Does this include the ability to wave your hand over the screen and see that there are notifications as well?
     
  24. androidlover9

    androidlover9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    May 6, 2014

    May 6, 2014
    546
    74
    108
    Male
    Living
    Canada
    Motorola custom voice commands are still there.

    Moto display + reaching to trigger it has returned and they added features.

    All they removed was Ambiet display which is what Nexus devices have.

    Oh, and night mode is kind of gone, now it seems to be automatic with no way to turn it off or always have it on.
     
  25. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    Updating now!!!!! Keeping fingers crossed it fixes issues with my car's infotainment center!!!
     
    androidlover9 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...