1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Apps and Permissions

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by JeremyCrowhurst, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. JeremyCrowhurst

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    IT
    Texas
    Is there a way to 'customize' the permissions that an app can use when installing or using said app? I would like to be able to say that this app can use GPS but not have access to my Contacts, or allow it to use the network but not access my SD card.

    I know that this would likely disable different parts of the app but I am okay with that. I would like to be able to control which functions I give it permission to to use without only having the option to choose to install it or not based solely on what the developer set up.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamor

    jamor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,688
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    3,688
    761
    213
    Planet Earth
    No way to customize!
     
  3. JeremyCrowhurst

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    IT
    Texas
    So with all of the 'open source' of Android nobody has figured out a way to do this? I guess you would have to be rooted to do it and I am not interested in rooting at this point. Any other hints would be appreciated.
     
  4. w_bovine

    w_bovine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,248
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,248
    147
    143
    Android simply doesn't have the security features of the BlackBerry OS. With a BB you can set individual permissions for an app; that is part of the overall security built into BlackBerry's.

    I've yet to hear of any app for Android that will provide you with such granular control over permissions. Even if such an app existed, I expect you'd need root to utilize it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...