1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Browser auto closes

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by amitjohar, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. amitjohar

    amitjohar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    I have android on my LG cell phone. The browser auto closes on its own and this is very disruptive. For example you are watching a video and it closes, then its just very irritating to restart all over again.

    Furthermore I have done kaspersky scan and there are no viruses. But the android browswer closing on its own remains unresolved for many weeks.

    What's the fix for this? Is there an app to fix this at google play?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to the forums!!!!!!
    what lg phone do you have?

    what browser are you using? i use dolphin on my htc evo 4g lte and i never have any issues like that. try going into your phone's settings>apps>your browser>clear cache and see if that helps. if not then try a soft reset, power the phone off> wait 30 secs>reboot. this usually clears any temp files that the phone has and might help fix small issues like the browser closing like that.
     
  3. amitjohar

    amitjohar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    I am using LG P-999 from t-mobile. It is the default built in browser. This does not happen on other browsers that can be downloaded from google play. So I don't think reset of phone will work.
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well your browser is just an app. sometimes the cache for the app needs clearing so you can either do that by clearing the cache in the phone's settings or try the soft reset.

    if you have not completely shut your phone off the temp files might get corrupted and will need to be cleared to run better. it will help you phone run in the long run by doing this anyways.

    up to you.
     
  5. amitjohar

    amitjohar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    how do you clear the cache? I am new to android. Not even a month since I started using android. I am still in the learning mode
     
  6. FinancialWar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    246
    24
    38
    amitjohar

    Any reason why you are using the default browser? As you said other browser don't have the issue, why not just use them, they are probably better than the default one anyway, like Chrome, Dolphin etc.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    1. go into you phone's setting
    2. find apps and select it
    3. find the browser (should be under the all setting)
    4. clear cache
     
  8. amitjohar

    amitjohar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Clearing of cache doesn't help either. The reason I use the default browser is because kaspersky mobile security states that web threat blocking feature will only work on the default browser and not on other browsers downloaded from application store. If I know there is protection on other browser, I'd use it. But Kaspersky gives warning against it
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    really? that is lame. dolphin is so much better. and i really do not see the need for anti viruses on android devices. as long as you adhere to common sense (stick to safe websites and only download and install apps from google's play store) you should be fine, but that is up to you.

    the only antivirus i run is Lookout Security & Antivirus. but i use it mainly so that i can lock my device if i loose it or it gets stolen. it has some pretty cool features like it will save the device's last location before the battery dies out making it easier to find.
     
  10. FinancialWar

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    246
    24
    38
    Chrome for Android also gives warning, also sync password, bookmarks and history automatically.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i use chrome on my asus tablet and it runs great. but for some reason i like dolphin running on my phone better. it feels faster then chrome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...