1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android Chrome Redirection Virus/Malware/Adware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Droidsta, Nov 1, 2014.

  1. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    Hi,

    I had an issue crop up where whenever I would try to access a link or do a search in Google Chrome on my Samsung Galaxy S4 on Android, I would get redirected to a Malware/Adware type site.

    Always starting with slimspot dot com, then redirecting to a pop up saying I've won an award or I have a dangerous virus that needs removing etc.

    Anyway, there would be no way to go back and access the original site I was looking at or be able to use Chrome to search for anything because I'd constantly get redirected to this Malware and the only option was to close down Chrome and try again only to get same thing happen again etc etc basically rendering Chrome unusable.

    I tried clearing cache/data in Chrome, restoring Chrome to factory default version etc. No luck...

    Searched google relentlessly for a fix to no avail.

    Tried every legitimate anti virus, anti malware/anti spyware program around, none could detect a problem.

    Tried Firefox and that worked fine so I knew it was a problem with the Chrome browser specifically.

    So then I figured it out and thought I would post solution on here for other poor suckers who go through the same thing and can't find a fix.

    I almost couldn't be bothered but I want to try to be helpful :)

    Anyway, connected phone to computer, went to Android folder, then data, searched for Chrome. One folder came up, I shift deleted it.

    Voila. Simple as that, problem solved.

    Hope this helps someone.

     

    Advertisement

  2. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,016
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    That's pretty bizarre. Thanks for sharing.
     
  3. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    No worries. Yeah, bug was obviously put into Chrome directory and not picked up by antivirus/Malware/Adware scans. Can't get rid of it by clearing data and no way to actually remove Chrome because it's a default app on Android can only restore to factory version. So have to manually delete directory.
     
    apfelkooken likes this.
  4. apfelkooken

    apfelkooken Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014

    Nov 3, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    mate, you're a legend. thankyou, this has been bugging the hell out of me.
     
  5. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    No worries! Yeah, really didn't want to switch to Firefox, chrome is defintely the best browser on Android IMO.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  6. spman

    spman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #502
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    223
    6
    36
    What antivirus are you using that did not detect the virus?
     
  7. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    Just had Zoner when I got it then also downloaded Avast and a bunch of others (all the top rated ones) and none picked it up in a scan.
     
    dynomot likes this.
  8. grumpyoldpom

    grumpyoldpom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014

    Nov 5, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you so much, this has been driving me nuts! Registered here just to say thanks.
     
  9. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    No worries! Haha, figured it was only happening to me because I didn't find anything about it online!
     
  10. crookedkiwi

    crookedkiwi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Hi mate?

    Did as directed and deleted the file through my pc.
    Still getting the slimspot pop up. Im one step away from restoring phone to factory but would like to avoid if possible.
    Any ideas?
     
  11. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    Hi there, sorry that's the only solution I could come up with. Did you delete a file or the entire Chrome folder? I actually had a slimspot pop up today too! But it opened in another window like a pop up rather than hijacking my entire browser, but still gave me the creeps because I hadn't seen it at all since I deleted the chrome folder. Must have picked it up again from somewhere. It was after I accessed a link from Gmail actually so maybe the issue is with Gmail. Maybe try deleting the Gmail folder as well? Doubt you'll lose your emails because they will probably be on the server. Also, I restored the app to factory version and cleared all the data before permanently deleting the folder. Maybe do that for both Chrome and Gmail. Let me know if it works!
     
  12. grumpyoldpom

    grumpyoldpom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014

    Nov 5, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Ok, it came back yesterday. Noticed it only does it if i click a link through from facebook. For example i like a site called watchtime, website about watches. If i click on the news feed in facebook, when i go to the site in chrome it happens. But, if i try to read the same article by just going to the website, it doesn't happen??
     
  13. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    Yes, I noticed it through Facebook as well but nothing since then thankfully. The last few times it didn't hijack my browser anyway, just opened a pop up in a new window. I can deal with that! As long as I can use Chrome. If it keeps happening, I might delete Facebook, Chrome and Gmail and then just avoid clicking links, which is ridiculous but I want to avoid getting this again until Google get their act together.
     
  14. Mallywest

    Mallywest Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014

    Nov 22, 2014
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Go to settings in chrome. Content settings. Disable java..... pain in the ass having it disabled for legit sites. It's only a temporary fix.
     
  15. whitehawk

    whitehawk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Agh, I'm having the same problem, but searching for Chrome doesn't find anything in Android/data/ ... so annoying!! And odd that no-one has commented on this since November ...

    I also get the popup out of the blue when I'm playing words with friends standalone app, not even using the broswer.
     
  16. Droidsta

    Droidsta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014

    Nov 1, 2014
    9
    12
    8
    I know. I've been getting this all the time again. It's so frustrating. Only thing that gets rid of it is disabling Java in content settings but unfortunately so many things require Java.

     
  17. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #263
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    I too started getting the slimspot popup this week. (Coincidentally(?) with the new extended forum addresses.) It seems to get triggered when I come here to any one of my bookmarked forums from my mobile. It usually opens two or three new tabs and redirects to a game on Google Play.

    Found this lengthy thread on Google Help forum, no solution yet it seems:
    https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/Q74jiLWfLdM[176-200-false]
     
    #17 AnciusD, Jan 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2015
  18. toni kari

    toni kari Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015

    Jan 20, 2015
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Help! I have same problem. Chrome and opera does that popup shit. I have try many apps but nothing works. Only when i put javascript off it helps but many sites need that. I connected phone to computer but i didnt found any chrome files.
     
  19. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    23,056
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    23,056
    12,254
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    EarlyMon likes this.
  20. toni kari

    toni kari Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015

    Jan 20, 2015
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    I dont know what exactly i did but now my and my girlfriend phones are fine. I just connected phone on the computer and i deleted hidden files. Now working even with javascript.
     
  21. remini777

    remini777 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015

    Jan 23, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    I had the same problem and try everything: clean cache, data, factory reset, delete folders etc. and nothing helped. Today malwarebytes on my PC pop up with warning of trojan called DNSChanger and then I checked my router setting and my primary DNS address was changed to 91.212.124.159. I changed it back to address from my provider and problem is gone. So everybody who have this problem try this solution.
     
  22. H20nmud

    H20nmud Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015

    Jan 26, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I found a huge adobe "looking" java in my Drive folder. Says my file was made by my wife. Don't know if this is possible or if it's wrong for me to have it? What do I do?
     
  23. Rulianto Tegoeh

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015

    Jan 27, 2015
    1
    1
    16
    Male
    Try this simple steps :

    1. Open Chrome Browser app
    2. Go to menu
    3. Open Setting
    4. Open Site Setting
    5. Switch pop-ups setting to BLOCKED

    After that you can try to open website again.

    Please let me know if it's work for you.
     
    BrianWellman1972 likes this.
  24. jjdoctor

    jjdoctor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014

    Oct 25, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I am having the same issue but with Opera browser and thats the only one I use. Cleared outs cache but didnt help. Anyone please write a working Fix as its coming back again and again
     
  25. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    23,056
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    23,056
    12,254
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Looks like this is an ongoing Google ads problem, but it apparently only hitting people in the US, AFAICT. The working fix for the moment seems to be is block Google ads, AdSense, AdMob, DoubleClick. Getting things like fake virus warnings, dating, pr0n, redirects to the Play Store, gambling, offshore pharmacies, penis & muscle growth pills, etc.
     
    #25 mikedt, Jan 30, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2015
  26. radnus1987

    radnus1987 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015

    Jun 5, 2015
    1
    2
    26
    Male
    This is not a problem with google ads nor has anything to do with your phone or any other device that you use. The issue is that the router has been attacked and the DNS has been changed.

    Log on to your router and change the router settings to set the DNS settings to 'Obtain from ISP' or an equivalent option based on your router model. Alternately get the correct DNS value for your internet provider and enter those values for the DNS.

    Regards,
    Radnus
     
    SimpleSmarthphoneUser and Sal17 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...