1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android Contacts issue on Samsung Tablet

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    My dads contacts sync well between his phone and Google, but he has more on his tablet, which for some reason, although it was originally populated via and syncing with Google, he now has more on it and groups, but these haven't synced the other way.
    Any ideas?

     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,713
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,713
    14,904
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Contacts don't come from nowhere, so if he did not add them manually then they were synced from somewhere, even if he wasn't aware of it.

    So the question is who are these contacts and what do they have in common? If not from his Google account (but has he checked that by logging into GMail on a computer and looking at his contacts there?) then does he have Facebook, or LinkedIn, Outlook.com, Skype, etc? His contacts app could potentially have synced with a lot of things other than Google.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  3. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Sorry, didn't explain the best....he has added new contacts on tablet and created groups there, but they haven'y synced back up to google, and thus his phone.


    And why does my original post not show up in My Posts, nor did I get an email notification which is setup for me?!?!
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,000
    4,681
    1,108
    Male
    Because the first post was made under a neutral "Android Question" guest account. It is not linked to your new account, hence no emails initially. You should have made an account before asking a question.

    Anyway, the answer here is simple, he added the new contacts as device contacts instead of Google contacts, hence they are not syncing. When adding a contact, near the top of the screen is a box showing your email, or maybe "device storage". You tap that box and change it to your email in order to add a contact as a Google contact and let it sync.
     
    smurph1 likes this.
  5. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Will check the contact types, thanks.

    Still not sure re guest account, as I login!
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,000
    4,681
    1,108
    Male
    You are logged in now. The first post is made using "Android Question". Just look at the name of the poster.
     
  7. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    I was logged in, and that was the name of the forum i did the post in...its under featured forums!
    I'll admit I've just attempted it again and seems to do what you say (when i'm logged in)....though that was not what i was intending, and I've never yet seen a forum that allows guest posts, and don't think it should! CONFUSED.
     
  8. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Right - got to look into this, when trying to add a new contact (on Samsung Tablet), I don't see where to select device/Google contact type. When I enter a contact, I can see which type it is, but am unable to edit! Also, my dad has created groups by importing several emails, and all are device type, so how do we create or import these contacts and/or groups as Google type, and so that the group is seen by Google. THIS SHOULD BE EASIER!!
     
  9. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,000
    4,681
    1,108
    Male
    The box where it says device contact, tap that.
     
  10. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    I did, it didn't activate to let me change! :(
     
  11. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Yes, I am unable to change a contact from device to google, on mine and my dads Samsung tablet. This must be able to be done somehow?????
     
  12. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,000
    4,681
    1,108
    Male
    If a contact is already set as device, you cannot simply convert it to Google. You have to add the contact again as google contact. You can only select it when adding new contacts. If it's already a contact added to the phone, it can't be done that way.
     
    svim likes this.
  13. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Thanks for your input...weird, you'd think they'd let you change your mind!?!?o_O
    Worse, I don't see how to add the contact from an email as a Google contact, only device!:thinking:
    And same for a group of recipients.:mad:
    This is all so unhelpful, and these options should be available.... Google/Android fail!! :rolleyes:
     
  14. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,000
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,000
    4,681
    1,108
    Male
    On my Samsung, you can select Google instead of device when saving contacts. What email app are you using?
     
  15. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Stock Samsung, will check again later.
     
  16. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    246
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Thanks, yes, when entering a new contact from scratch that option appears, but not when selecting an address within an email and adding it....it only allows device, and no way to change later, as I said previously. Also, we want to do this with a group of >50 contacts from an existing email....will likely have to do on-line only in gmail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...