1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Android development in VirtualBox

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by oneeyeman, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. oneeyeman

    oneeyeman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi, ALL,
    I installed VirtualBox on top of my Gentoo Linux install.
    Then I opened a virtual machine that was generated for me with the VMWare.

    When I plug-in my Android HTC phone it is visible in VM and it is visible in Eclipse. However when I try to run the application I see the dialog that asks to select the device to run the program on and there the phone is "offline".

    The phone is connected with the "Charge Only" settings.
    If I use the same VM image on Windows with WMPlayer I don't have this problem.

    Any suggestions on how to fix it?

    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jonbonazza

    jonbonazza Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,930
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,930
    457
    163
    Male
    Why not just use the Android SDK and Eclipse IDE for linux?
     
  3. oneeyeman

    oneeyeman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    jonbonazza, Because this is the environment I got from my employer. I know it is easier, but I'm stuck with this setup. Thank you. P.S.: VirtualBox version is latest one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...