1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

android gps apps

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by telcar, Oct 2, 2011.

1. telcar

telcar Lurker
    None

Oct 2, 2011
    Hi im just getting started with the android os and i figerd this was as good of a place as any to start. Ok ive got an lg ally running android 2.2.2 today is my second day having it, i rooted it yesterday ben trying to get some of the crap out of there that isant needed so i have two questions why are there some many gps apps on the android stock theres like 5 car home, latitude, maps, navigation and places, does each app do something diffrant or what can i get rid of them all and just use one realy good gps app or what

and what default app does the android not need which ones can i uninstall with out messing up the os

Advertisement

2. ASC

ASC I'm Shy
    None

Mar 27, 2010
    Male
    Construction Management
    Phoenix, AZ
    I think Maps, Navigation, Places, and possibly Latitude are all linked.

"Maps" is Google Maps. I use it all the time to help me find places and see where they are in relationship to my location.
    "Places" is linked to Maps to search for stores, restaurants, bars, businesses, etc...
    "Navigation" is the actual GPS Navigator that will show you how to get to places.
    "Latidude" ... Not Sure... I don't use it.

They will all work independently and/or together with eachother.

3. telcar

telcar Lurker
    None

Oct 2, 2011
    i dont understand why google has got to strech everything out what is the reason for 5 icons for one app and does anybody no anything about what default apps i can get rid of

4. ASC

ASC I'm Shy
    None

Mar 27, 2010
    Male
    Construction Management
    Phoenix, AZ