1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Android/ios app confusion

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by emfader, Jan 2, 2014.

1. emfader

emfader Lurker
    None

Jan 2, 2014
    Hi guys, I am basically a web app developer. There is an urgent need of an app for a company. Problem is I don't have much experience to make this app or time to learn it. What I am thinking or my question is, whether it is possible to make a webpage and run it inside the android app, without the user knowing that it is a webpage?

Is it even possible?
    What are the pros and cons of it?
    This will be connected to a MySQL database and made in PHP.

Advertisement

2. JVene

JVene Member
    None

Jan 2, 2014
    My first reaction is no, it's not going to work exactly the way you're specifying, but...

As a web app developer you're probably aware that you're contemplating AJAX, PHP on the server side, HTML/Javascript on the client. That will work, and it will function on Android, IOS, Tizen (if and when it's released), Blackberry, Windows, Mac, Linux...everywhere.

Yet, it is very unlikely you can fashion such an app to appear to be native.

What you MIGHT pull off, however, is to find Java code which basically interpets HTML, and displays it as if it were a browser, and focus THAT to function exclusively on your server and it's PHP server side code.

That assumes you're REALLY focused on limiting the client side development to your web application skills.

Really, though, this could be THE opportunity to expand (it's a common, even required theme for developers). It's actually more difficult, IMO (notice I skipped the humble, though I really shouldn't) to write such applications on the client side with HTML and Javascript. Once you "get going", Java is MUCH better (which I cringe at saying because at heart I'm a C++ devotee).