1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android keyboard???

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kurite, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. kurite

    kurite Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    So I like the android keyboard and how it has punctuation at the top. However when you start typing out words the punctuation becomes words that the phone predicts. I turned off the setting so the words no longer show but now the punctuation is gone as well. Is there a way to keep one and not the other?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Use a better keyboard. Try Swiftkey. There's a free version in the Market.
     
  3. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    Swiftkey isn't better. It's just different.
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    After you press "space bar" the punctuations should return. Personally I prefer Swype, long pressing on the keyboard buttons bring up the punctuation marks related to that button (long pressing on "z" inputs an exclamation point "!" ). Not to mention its easier for one hand input.
     
  5. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Long pressing works on Swiftkey as well. This difference is Swiftkey is really smart and can learn your typing habits. Used correctly, it's the fastest keyboard.
     
    danaj likes this.
  6. namoroman

    namoroman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    Male
    Kwik Trip
    Owatonna, MN
    I think I may be the only person I know who cannot stand Swype. I tried and tried and know how to use it, and know where all the letters are without looking, and yet I just find it tedious and a pain to use. I am not saying anything bad about anyone who does like it, just stating that I hate it lol.
     
  7. UssjTrunks

    UssjTrunks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    364
    55
    53
    I doubt it's faster than swiping keyboards (Swype, Touchpal).
     
  8. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    ^ True that.

    Swype also learns my typing habits correctly, not to mention I taught it almost an entire new language (my native language isn't among the supported ones).
     
  9. jkirch86

    jkirch86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I would agree that SwiftKey is the fastest keyboard, much faster than swiping.
    Less key pressing means faster typing and on 80 % of the words I type, I hit the first letter then the spacebar. Drag over 6 keys or tap 2?
    Punctuation is also predicted.
    Well worth at least trying for a few days.

    (You have to try out 8pen too lol)
     
  10. droidapps

    droidapps Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Android Programmer
    India
    All of the keyboards have something great for someone. So its best feature, classifying them for different people with different typing habits.

    Thanks,
    AndroidAppsProgramming
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    I tried Swiftkey before, and it did not support my language, and I could not teach it new words, which makes it slower than Swype for me.

    Although right now I am trying out the new Go Keyboard. Like Swype, it now has swiping features and can be taught new words. And like SwiftX, it churns out suggestions as you type (with a better selection that what Swype offers for suggestions), and includes the words you taught it. It also has punctuation suggestions after pressing space at the end of each word.

    Looks like best of both worlds. LOL.
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Flex T9 is also very good. I like it for swiping better than Swype, fwiw.

    And for a conventional keyboard, the free Hackers Keyboard is excellent.

    Android is all about choice.
     
  13. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    How about a qwerty keyboard that looks like Hacker's keyboard and does nothing but type. No predictive text, no dictionary. Just plain jane.

    I don't like Swype, and really don't want to bother with predictive text as it usually doesn't. It's more hassle to select the word than type it.
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I am typing this on Hacker's Keyboard with suggestions turned off, no problem, and no auto-complete suggestions or predictions.

    Plus you can add the fourth key row, Gingerbread-style, if you like.

    It's VERY versatile! :)
     
  15. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    Thanks, I'll probably try it.

    I wish that you could find all the info at once. Most apps say nothing about customizing unless it's another language or skin. It's getting like finding system requirements for software now. You have to dig.

    Do you experts just try the apps in something like a sandbox to find all this out?
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    That's exactly what I do.

    Root / nandroid backup to the rescue - anything that sounds interesting here or that someone isn't getting help on, I try out in the sandbox. I end up keeping a lot of stuff or rotating out old for new after testing.

    People say rooting is about the custom rom, that's where it's all at. Not me. For me, it's all about the apps and rooting gives me my nandroid safety net. :)
     
  17. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    It doesn't seem to want to work. All I'm getting is the warning that it isn't responding, and force close.
    It shows up in applications, but not in Titanium Backup or the task manager to uninstall it.

    Phone is rooted, updated to GB, but no custom ROM.
     
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Mine shows up under apps to uninstall, stock rooted Gingerbread rom like you.

    Maybe a bad install, a one time glitch? Install again from Market, see if that fixes it?
     
  19. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    Tried a couple of times. Still get "force close"
    Does it have to be installed fro the network rather than wifi?
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Nope.

    It should install under /data/app like anything else.
     
  21. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    Never had the Android Keyboard on the phone. Only Samsung and Swype. Just dl GB keyboard and it installed, so it has to be something with Hackers and/or market
     
  22. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    When I tried to use the report on Hacker'serror message it wouldn't work. In fact, Hacker's hung up on the phone - made it sluggish and slow to respond.
    Acted like it was looking for some type of code to run efficiently. The only app that could disrupt is TB. I haven't got anything else.
     
  23. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    error message iincludes processorg pcworkstation.
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Apk is org.pocketworkstation.pckeyboard.

    Must have something in doesn't like about Samsung or it is conflicting with another application.
     
  25. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    I found the APK, downloaded it. Froze Samsung keypad. Restored voice recorder. (Never use it)
    Phone doesn't hang up, can select w/o error message, keyboard will turn up for a second just before crash. So it is still looking for something. Messaging will now say to select the keyboard.
    Long press on type box will finally ask for input, Hackers is selected, keyboard will appear then vanish and error message appears.

    It could just be Samsung. dammit. I liked the layout.

    I don't think there was an original Android keyboard on the phone. So if it needs something in the background from an Android keyboard, I don't have it. Did not get one with the GB upgrade. The GB keyboard I did download from Market wants the same permissions, but voice recorder wasn't available and GB keyboard ran.
     

Share This Page

Loading...