1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support android keys

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by putz, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. putz

    putz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    Brooklyn, NY
    Is there a way to make the android keys light up on the thunderbolt?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mskgreenel

    Mskgreenel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Which keys?? Home, Menu etc..? Tap them they should light up. Depends on your brightness settings.
     
  3. putz

    putz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yeah those keys, which setting of brightness do they have to be on? Im almost set to the brightest, yet they still dont light up. it's really frustrating when I'm in the dark & I cant see the keys.
     
  4. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    I thought they were controlled by the light sensor...once they sense it is dark enough for them, they turn on.

    FWIW, my phone is sitting directly under a light (at my work desk) with auto brightness on, and the keys are on.

    are you rooted? if so what ROM are you running?

    if you are stock, there may be an app that is keeping them off. i just dont know for sure. but when in doubt, reboot, if that doesn't fix it,factory data reset.
     
  5. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    221
    13
    38
    Male
    engineer
    Va
    Look under Widgets, I think there's one for Brightness.
     
  6. putz

    putz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    Brooklyn, NY
    I am rooted & using the das bamf "bamf forever 1.0.4" & "bamf forever 1.0.5" ROMs I downloaded from ROM manager.

    How does this affect me? when I first got the phone, which wasn't rooted, the keys weren't lighting up then also.

    I have the brightness setting on my home screen but that's for the screen brightness.
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Try AdjBrightness it requires root but should be able to light up those softkeys for you.
     
  8. putz

    putz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    Brooklyn, NY
    even adjbrightness didnt work (yes I am rooted). I dont think my sotfkey lights are working :(
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah I know you are rooted :D...have you tried flashing a different rom to see if it is perhaps a software issue, I honestly can't tell you if mine work or not I dont pay that much attention.
     
  10. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Try flashing a CM7 based ROM, then look under the general settings in the CM settings. There are a TON of light settings. If you turn everything off your buttons should light up. If you turn on some of the automation, you may have to dig into the menus and set brightness levels, etc.

    I can charge all the time (work from home FTW), so I leave my brightness set on solar flare mode, so my lights are always on. I know that on CM7 if you turn on some of the automation, the default has some thresholds set for the backlights. You may want to search around on XDA, too, I think there is a thread on how to set all that up.

    Not saying that you should go to AOSP to fix the lights, BTW, just a troubleshooting step to make sure it is not the ROM or a setting.
     
  11. putz

    putz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    Brooklyn, NY
    I found the perfect ROM for myself & I ain't changing it. I'd rather not have my softkeys light up than have a different ROM.

    Like I said, when I got the phone, which was never rooted, the softkeys were still not working.
     
  12. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    We were not suggesting that you change ROMS for good, only long enough to rule a few things out. CM7 allows a lot more control over lighting than sense ROMs and may help...or may not. Only would take about 20 minutes and may save you the hassle of returning the phone, etc.
     
  13. awdcivic

    awdcivic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    44
    2
    16
    if you find out how you disabled them can you tell me? cause i dont want them to be on and led hack uses more battery than the lights do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...