1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android Market App

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bilko10, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. bilko10

    bilko10 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Just Bought HTC Desire HD and I cannot install any app. Apparently my phone should have the Android Market Icon but it doesnt have one. How and from where can I install the Android Market Icon or is there other ways I can install apps on on my phone, Very disappointed so far. can any one help?

    Many thanks


    Bilko10
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to the forums.

    Did you link the phone to a gmail account during setup?

    When you press the search button and type market, what does it bring up?
     
  3. bilko10

    bilko10 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks.

    I had opened a Gmail account.

    I went on the market site from my phone and tried to download any app. It said there is no android phone linked to this account even tho I could see my gmail account on the sreen.
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    There is no market app on your phone at all, not even in the apps drawer?

    If it's new, there'll be no data on there so you could try a factory reset?

    What's your S/W version and I'll try and find an appropriate apk for you.
     
  5. bilko10

    bilko10 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    The OS is : Android OS, v2.2 (Froyo). Its a brand new phone. Everything else works very well. I would prefer not to do a factory reset
     
  6. bilko10

    bilko10 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    There is no market app on the phone but it came with few preloaded game apps
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    Google released a new version of the market recently, which you can grab here.

    El, do you know if it's possible to use HTC sync to install apps on the DHD? That's the only way I can see to install .apks without access to file managers from the market.

    It's odd that your phone doesn't have a market though. I suspect that there may be other things missing too.
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Once your phone is connected, on the main screen, there's an application installer button. That will allow you to browse your PC to select an .apk file. The screenshot below is for the Aria, but it's the only decent one I could find.

    [​IMG]

    You'd need to allow installation of 3rd Party Apps via the applications menu to do so though.

    Agreed.

    Op, are any of the other google apps missing? Google search etc. Did you buy the phone 2nd hand or new?
     
    Xyro likes this.
  9. losl

    losl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    Male
    Retired
    Vancouver BC CA
    El, how could i access the main screen of HTC Syn as shown in the screenshot ?


    Thank you !!


    SLo
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Open HTC Sync on the PC (if it's not running in the background already), connect the phone, select HTC Sync as the connection option. The and app should find each other and then you'll be taken to the above screen.

    As far as I recall anyway, I can't test as it won't recognise my phone at the moment (I'm not using a sense based ROM).
     
  11. bilko10

    bilko10 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    El,

    will try your suggestion. Will HTC website be of any help?
     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not sure to be honest, they'll list common problems and this is the first time I've heard of the phone coming without the market app installed so I doubt they'll have heard of it.

    No harm in checking though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...