1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android market blocked in middle east

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Moses92, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. Moses92

    Moses92 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I recently bought an android phone . Samsung galaxy s . I just found out the android market is not available for the middle east ( which i am from ) .
    Is there anyway around this ? Rooting ? Downloading it from some website over sd card ?
    Or atleast can i download android apps from pc and transfer to phone over sd card ?
    Thanks , and sorry for being noobish =[ .
     

    Advertisement

  2. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I'm willing to bet its blocked at the ISP level. So short of using a proxy, there isn't much you can do about it. Your best bet is looking around online Android application downloads in the form of .APK files. Then copy them to your phone.
     
  3. Moses92

    Moses92 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Hmm. . Any other opinions?
    And can you recommend me a certain website where i can find. Apk apps?
     
  4. krillo

    krillo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    95
    9
    16
    There is something else you could try, get another countries SIM card (prepaid or unloaded, doesn't reallly matter - but don't get a plan) you can buy these online at various places. Put it in and use WIFI to try to navigate to the market.
    This worked in Sweden where we did not have access to paid apps for the longest time. I used an empry prepaid UK SIM card. It was a little hassle to switch cards when I wanted to shop but it was worth it.
     
  5. Moses92

    Moses92 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    8
    1
    6
  6. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Okay. That's blood weird. What's wrong with Google/Dubai government? (Not sure who I should be blaming here.) A trusted environment? Come on. China is one of the biggest centre of piracy (I am Chinese btw), and we have android market there.
     
  7. izzyq8

    izzyq8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    I live in kuwait and same problem
    just root the phone then download through google market enabler.
    It will allow u to buy programs
     
  8. aburafz

    aburafz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have the following solution for you but it works for android 2.1

    use dial key pad and enter *#272HHMM# press call button, you will get a scree scroll down and choose xgg and this will reset the phone to the universal config.
    The android market will become available in your phoe.

    What I have not figured out is how to get this issue resolved if you have android 2.2 and I have the same issue you have (i.e. no android market) but I have android 2.2. Can anyone help?
    p.s. HHMM is your current time on your digital clock of the device
     
  9. nikkilodion

    nikkilodion Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Consultant
    @aburafz - i tried what you just said, but im having a network problem in my sim card, im in bahrain now and im using the local network provider which is batelco, and now its not working

    do you have any suggestions for this problem?
     
  10. JiMMaR

    JiMMaR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    363
    57
    53
    as I recall , in 2.2 you just put
    *#272#
    or
    *#272*

    I can't confirm now , just ****ed up my phone :p
    I'll confirm when I fix it
     
  11. rehngd

    rehngd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    *#272*[IMEI number]#

    then chose "XSG".

    WARNING: be sure to back up your data as this will wipe the phone clean.

    the IMEI number is a long number can be found under Settings>About phone>Status.

    Just to note that the "[" and "]" are just there to place hold, dont enter them in the phone when you send.
     
    JiMMaR likes this.
  12. amitrin

    amitrin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    i used the code *#272*[IMEI number]# and brought back the market app. but since then my mobile network signal has decreased significantly. practically, i can't have a normal communication where i live. it wasn't like this before.

    CAN ANYONE HELP??? WHAT'S HAPPENED????
     

Share This Page

Loading...