1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support android marketplace how to clear history data

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidmaker, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    i only had my android phone a day its on t-mobile so i have the g1 but something i cant seem to work out is how do i clear searched history for apps in the android marketplace. if i have looks for an app with a keyword




    glad to be one of the android owners i plan to write apps for the os so if people have any ideas please let me know

    thank you for your help
     

    Advertisement

  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

    Welcome to the forums... and to clear the cache from the market simply go to settings > applications > manage applications > market and then click the clear cache button
     
  3. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    ok where is the clear cache button i gone it to mange apps and even click home nothing came up about it
     
    pinetowncop likes this.
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    settings > applications > manage applications > CLICK on market when it opens there will or should be a clear cache button....
     
  5. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    great thank you for your help
     
  6. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    but its still showing the keywords i have searched for ?
     
  7. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    then clear your browser

    2 ways to do it...

    1) settings> applications > manage applications > CLICK browser and clear

    2) Open Browser click menu button then more > settings then clear specific things like data, cookies, passwords etc...
     
  8. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    na that still dont work lol this is werid :D thank you again for your help
     
  9. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    anyone have any other ideas
     
  10. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    anyone have any other ideas
     
  11. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    anymore ideas guys
     
  12. ChilledMatt

    ChilledMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008

    Dec 4, 2008
    133
    3
    56
    AFAIK it cannot be done from phone settings. I believe it can be done if you have root and you delete the relevant file. I have seen a post on here before that names the file.
     
  13. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    anyone have a link to that maybe i can write an app to do this if i know what file it is ?
     
  14. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    Any app that use cache can be cleared by the following method :

    System settings > Applications > Manage Applications

    Then search for That Application, long press it then hit clear cache

    SO.....

    System settings > Applications > Manage Applications

    Then Find Market, LongPress Market then hit clear cache

    Then Find Browser, LongPress Browser then hit clear cache
     
  15. androidmaker

    androidmaker Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009

    Jun 7, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    yes but this dont work that is what i been saying :d ps i am talking about when you serch for somting on the marketplace you cant clean the serched text
     
  16. ChilledMatt

    ChilledMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008

    Dec 4, 2008
    133
    3
    56
  17. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
  18. eltimn

    eltimn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
  19. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #588
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    252
    10
    38
    Male
    On my N1, Settings=> Privacy => Factory Data Reset

    - clears it, along with shed-loads of other stuff (like downloaded apps..).


    Thankfully Google sync's back yr contacts & calendar & which APPs you'd purchased so you can download again for no-extra-charge....

    Cheers!

    Lodger
     
  20. F1NinjaTZS

    F1NinjaTZS Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,389
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    HistoryEraser will do it. Installed and not tried yet, but the user reviews in the market are all good!:D
     
    bernell likes this.
  21. gonzo61

    gonzo61 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Just downloaded MarketSearchEraser and it worked awesome.:)

    FINALLY.....after reading all the talk about rooting and of course the dreaded expert's feedback of "clearing cache" in manage application settings!!
     
  22. theclarks1

    theclarks1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    3
    3
    6
    MarketSearchEraser will not work on my incredible, however the History Eraser will work.
     
  23. PGP_Protector

    PGP_Protector Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    174
    38
    43
  24. bigsi5

    bigsi5 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,
    Had the same problm but if you go into Manage Apps and hit Clear Data and then Clear Cache, all is good!
     
  25. bernell

    bernell Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010


    Awsome it worked great,

    Thanks much!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...