1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Android Media Process Alert in WatchDog

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bander68, Oct 1, 2014.

1. bander68

bander68 Member

I really don't know what I did to cause this to start appearing. My Watchdog Lite program just started giving me alerts that the Android Media Process is using too much CPU.

Unrooted/never rooted. TMobile non-LTE, running 4.3. (4.4.x hasn't been made available, so no switch.) The alerts seem to somehow be related to my use of the Music Player, but I've been using it exactly the same way for over 2 years and only in the last 2 weeks did I begin getting these alerts. They're coming multiple times per day. I can always KILL the process in Watchdog, but it comes back a while later. I tried adding it to the "White List", but then it just keeps sucking down CPU and my battery dies very fast.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Doit2it

Doit2it Android Expert

Sounds like an issue with your SD card. Try to remove and reinstall the SD card and see if the issue persists. If it does, the card may be unmounting and mounting randomly. Install an app called SD Card Monitor. It will run in the background and log whenever the card is mounted, unmounted, etc. Once installed, open the app and make sure the Off/On button in the upper right corner is On. Then open the app a few hours later to see if the SD card is misbehaving. If it is, a new SD card may be to answer to your problem.

3. svim

svim Extreme Android User

4. bander68

bander68 Member

I checked that thread and followed the advice listed below, and it seems to have worked.