1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Music Player that is Something Like ITunes

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by ChannelZ28, May 7, 2016.

  1. ChannelZ28

    ChannelZ28 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    5
    0
    15
    I have a lot of music, about 200GB. I have been using an IPod Classic for about the last 10 years. But it's been run over by a truck a couple times and is nearing the end of it's life. Since micro SD cards go up to 200GB now, I bought a used LG G4, put a 200gb card in it, and now have my phone and music in one. Pretty convenient, except that I'm struggling with the interface.

    I will also say that I'm not interested in streaming music, I only have pre-paid cell service.

    I'm pretty used to the convenience and simplicity of the IPod and I'm not at all app-literate. I usually download music, some legally, some not. I then drag it on to ITunes or Banshee (same thing just for Linux), edit the ID3 tags if they are out of whack, drag the files over to the IPod icon on the screen and everything is perfect. Creating playlists are just as simple. I have about 80 or so playlists on my IPod.

    I haven't figured out how to do any of this on Android. I tried Double Twist to sync my ITunes library and it only synced about 1/4 of the songs don't know why.

    I tried VLC and it just randomly shut down in the middle of songs.

    I tried Power Amp and couldn't figure out how to get it to stop playing automatically when I plugged in the headphones.

    I tried Player Pro which claims to have ID3 editing capabilities but for some reason it doesn't read the tags of some songs. They are all listed under "Unknown" as artist, even though I checked the tags and they are correct.

    Coming from the simplicity of Apple where everything works, what should I do? They don't make IPhones with enough storage capacity.

    I haven't seen any way of adding files except for drag and dropping folders, unless there's a way I can get the phone to show up in Banshee or Rhythmbox.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,203
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,203
    13,304
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Banshee or Rhythmbox? Are you using a Linux OS on your computer, like Ubuntu or something? Should be able to get the phone to show up in them? What's actually happening when you try, any errors or anything?
     
  3. ChannelZ28

    ChannelZ28 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    5
    0
    15
    I have Ubuntu and Windows 7 on a dual boot. Sometimes I use one, sometimes the other. What happens is that the phone shows up on my list of devices, but when I click on it nothing happens. It won't stay highlighted and none of the music files show up in the browser.

    Also the SD card doesn't show up in Banshee at all. I have done some basic searches but haven't found any solid answers.

    I plan to try MediaMonkey next and see if that works.
     
  4. eebvending

    eebvending Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    44
    22
    18
    Hope MediaMonkey is working out for you. I use the Windows desktop version on my PC and I'm a fan. However I have used Poweramp since my OG Droid days and have no reason to stop.

    In Poweramp, to prevent your music from starting automatically after plugging in headphones:

    Settings --> Headset/Bluetooth --> Resume On Wired Headset (uncheck this box)
     
  5. ChannelZ28

    ChannelZ28 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    5
    0
    15
    Thanks. MediaMonkey has lots of potential. I haven't figured out how to sync playlists yet and haven't found any help. Still looking though. How do playlists work on Poweramp? Maybe I should give that another shot at some point.
     
  6. eebvending

    eebvending Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    44
    22
    18
    O
    Of course you can create playlists easily within Poweramp like other players. It can read m3u8 playlists off of your device and I assume it should read those that were made with another app but I've never tried that.
     
    abureyyan789 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...