1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Newbie

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Darkflame1, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Darkflame1

Darkflame1 Member
    None

Jan 4, 2012
    Alamo city
    Just checking in, per proper protocol.

I am a LONG TIME technology idiot, having worked with mainframes before the PC was born, to building every computer I've ever owned, and writing software on every level of development. However, my phone technology has been lagging.

I've been using a HP rw6945 iPAQ pocket PC for the past 6 years. It has been adequate for my needs. But, it's 6 years old, all beat up, and the web browsing has always been problematic. So, I went to my provider (AT&T), let them give me a new 2 year contract, and walked out with a LG Nitro HD (& a Ballistic Shell Gel (SG)). I have just brought it home, inserted the battery, connected the charger, and will leave it charging overnight.

My main need is to keep my life organized, as I have ADD. 1) ListPro has been my savior for keeping in memory all those things that belong on some kind of list. 2) A good schedule/calendar management system so that I can stay on schedule. 3) Ability to create files that my Microsoft Office Pro (2003, tho I can upgrade that, if needed) can fully use. 4) A fully functional web browser so I can access my online email account(s), forums I frequent, and, of course, facebook. 5) Sudoku. 6) A music player. Those are the 6 apps that are Mission Critical.

Otherwise, I'm a woodworker, motorcycle (Honda Shadow Sabre, black & gray flames, hence the username) rider, published "chef," father of 3 (ages 10, 6, &, yes, twins:eek:, 6, one of each:)), here in San Antonio. I have a BAS in Business Management. Grew up in my parents' appliance store in Waco. I currently work as a "Customer Service Technician" (phone line repair) for your friendly, neighborhood, global, 3 letter (& 1 of them repeats) telecommunications company. I think that about covers it.