1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android OS battery drain since ICS upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by villamike, Apr 30, 2012.

1. villamike

villamike Newbie
    None

Jun 10, 2011
    Hi guys

Ever since I upgraded my G2 to ICS, my battery has been poor, as you can see from the attachement, Android OS is killing my battery.

Ive tried rebooting, this has not worked. Any suggestions? ta

Attached Files:

Advertisement

2. Diverdave80

Diverdave80 Newbie
    None

Jan 10, 2012
    Worcestershire, UK
    Im no expert, but this is what happend to me. Before ICS upgrade i was getting 2 days use out of my battery, im not a heavy user, WiFi in the evenings, Facebook, 3 email accounts syncing, the usual really. When i upgraded to ICS, my phone died in less than 24 hours. In fact, after the upgrade i remember seeing my battery go down whilst plugged into my PC! So, i let the battery go down to 1% of charge, turned the phone off, removed battery for 1 minute, back in, and then full charge using the mains charger. Im now getting 2.5 to 3 days use between charges, but i did delete my work exchange email account which seemed to be pushing emails even though id set it to sync every hour at peak times. This may or may not work for you, but worth a shot at least.

Silverpaulie and villamike like this.
  3. villamike

villamike Newbie
    None

Jun 10, 2011
    thans, will try draining the battery

4. Hawker

Hawker Android Expert

Aug 2, 2011
    Male
    UK
    Thats normal to be honest. You android OS is always running even when it is in its deepest sleep. It needs to in order to wake up in the first place, and to do all its background tasks (and there are many)
    Certain kernels would "mask" this, so that it would appear less of a drain, when in fact, other tasks (such as phone idle, cell standby, android system etc) would just bump up accordingly.