1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Phone 7 Theme

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by paulmz, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. marniel647

    marniel647 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    3
    0
    5

    thanks paulmz.. my CP screen size is 240 x 400 the image that i get from yours does not fit the size of the size of the desktop visualizer..

    hope i can get the correct size of the image for my screen size
    it has a gap at the left and right side of the image..
     

    Advertisement

  2. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
  3. Zani

    Zani Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    Dude this is awsome!
     
    paulmz likes this.
  4. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    Just an FYI for anyone using ADW Launcher EX for their Android7 Theme:

    I just downloaded the update (just on my tablet, thankfully) and the developer removed the no-dock option. So, if you set up your homescreen like I did- with no dock and icons filling the whole screen- do not do the update.

    I sent a couple of emails the the developer asking to not remove features from the app. We'll see how that goes.

    Sad to say, the free version of ADW Launcher hasn't been updated in a year and still has the no-dock option... in case you accidentally update and can't uninstall the update (like me).

    That's it! I hope anyone who is still using the theme is continuing to enjoy it!

    EDIT: I saw a new update today that allows for hiding the dock in a multi-step, almost roundabout way.

    1. Go into [General Behavior]-> [Gestures] and set one of your "gestures" for "Open/close Dockbar" (If you don't use it already).

    2. Go to your homescreen and swipe the gesture to hide the dock.

    3. Go back into [General Behavior]-> [Gestures] and reset that "gesture" to what it was (or keep it for the dock if you like).

    If you turn off the "Open/close Dockbar" gesture after hiding it, the dock will stay hidden. Now it makes sense! It's nice that a developer listens to the people.


    ANOTHER EDIT: Eureka- the developer replaced the options to hide the dock! All is right with the world.
     
    melissapugs likes this.
  5. Timeshift

    Timeshift Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hello ladies & gentlemen!
    I am new here and at first i want to say a big THANK YOU to the community for all the incredible tutorials & examples. Yesterday I've found this thread and after two hours i decided to make my own theme. Quickly bought the apps in the Android Market and spent half of the night to build my theme :)

    [​IMG]

    Menu created with "Launcher Pro Plus" & "Desktop Visualiser"
    Lockscreen created with "WidgetLocker"
    "Widget Locker" Theme is "MNML-Light"

    Images are from all over the net: Android Market, Google Image Search, Fotolia, Graphicriver, SXC,...

    The Font is: imagine earth (just search at dafont.com)

    I have attached a ZIP file with high resolution screenshots and also a ZIP file with all icons (80 files) i've done last night :)

    Thank you all for this awesome thread!!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    Awesome! i love it
     
  7. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    Awesome job. Thanks for sharing!
     
  8. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    There is an update to this. See 4 posts above.---^
     
  9. slynn

    slynn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hello

    Would you happen to know the Desktop Visualizer Widget Image Dimensions for 540x960 Resolution with Dock ON and Notification Bar OFF for 4column x 5row home screen?

    Thanks :)
     
  10. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    No, we do not have the dimensions for that setup yet. Here are a couple of options:

    1. Do THE TEST and post the screenshots so we can figure out the dimensions.

    2. With the new ADW Launcher update, you can show/hide the dock with a gesture (a swipe or down). If you do that, you can just use the existing Desktop Visualizer Widget Image Dimensions - 540x960 Resolution - Dock and Notification Bar OFF and just show the dock when you need it.

    Hope this helps!
     
  11. MrGentlemen

    MrGentlemen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Has anyone the dimensions for the Motorola Defy with ADW Launcher EX for Desktop Virtualizer or can I use this dimensions:

    thx
     
  12. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    The resolution is the same. It should work.
     
  13. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    paulmz likes this.
  14. andrewmicky

    andrewmicky Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    All the themes are fantastic and fabulous
     
  15. slynn

    slynn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hm did I get it right?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. NSutherl

    NSutherl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    If you were really just going for the WP7 look, you could probably use LauncherPro with like 10 columns. Then just make some square icons like you'd normally make a 2x2 icon for a normal WP7 theme, but keep a column or 2 on the right side of the screen open. Then just add a shortcut icon using that arrow as a custom icon, and have that be your app drawer open. Not truly like Launcher 7 (where you get homescreen scrolling, live tiles, and their take on the app drawer), but it would look and behave like it. If you wanted to do faux live tiles you could use unread sms, I suppose.

    Put this real quick together using icons I already had on my phone. You could make the dock icons transparent too. I'm not sure if you truly get rid of them in LauncherPro, though. Hope this helps.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    This should do it:

    Widths:

    1- 125px
    2- 260px
    3- 345px
    4- 530px

    Heights:

    1- 165px
    2- 340px
    3- 575px
    4- 690px
    5- 865px


    These dimensions are for a device with a 540x960 resolution and a homescreen layout of 4-columns and 5-rows.

    Hope this helps!
     
    slynn likes this.
  18. zormanze

    zormanze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Ok, so i followed different parts of this thread and i build myself Windows Phone 7 Theme. BUT i have some problems...
    My desktop looks like this[​IMG]
    I am using ADW Launcher (free version for now). I have to set up Google wallet, then Ill buy paid version.
    There are 3 things that bother me:
    1. The size of the APN Tile Widget is too big. I opened the .apk file with "apk manager" and resized the pics to 110x123 pixels which should be OK but i guess its not. The same procedure worked on other .apks (they were to big also).
    2. When i try to set Tile Widget for Gmail i get FC. Anybody knows why? Is there another way to make a widget that would show that i have unread mails?
    3. How can I remove the 3 dots in the upper part of the screen? The dots that show which desktop you use...

    Thanks!
     
  19. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    It actually looks like most of the widgets are off a little. First, make sure that you have the "Auto Stretch" setting checked under "UI Settings", "Screen Preferences", "Advanced Settings". The answer to number "3" may also fix this problem (see below). Otherwise, your resolution and setup are exactly like mine... all of the existing icons and widgets for a 480x800 resolution should work perfectly (in theory).

    It's not the widget, it's Gmail. Their last update broke every other app the uses it for notifications. To fix it, you have to uninstall the Gmail update (go back to an older version- hopefully you backed it up) and uninstall/reinstall the notification app. It should work after that.

    This is a setting in ADW. I actually have mine set to a sliding bar at the bottom of the screen. With this grid setup (4-columns/6-rows), ADW actually automatically sets extra space at the bottom of the screen. Change this setting in: "UI Settings", "Screen Preferences", "Screen Indicator". To turn it off, uncheck the "Show desktop indicator" box. To change the type of indicator, select "Indicator type". I am currently using "Sliding paginator bottom".

    Hope this helps!
     
    zormanze likes this.
  20. zormanze

    zormanze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Thank you master :D you are quite a freak... (in a good way)
    So there is no other way to get widget that would show new email received in Gmail? Damn cus i like new gmail app...Dont know what to do know, without notification bar you cannot see if you have new email....hm...
    About other Tile Widgets: If i used your .apks my screen looked even more distorted, thats why i changed the icons to be 123px in width and it worked for all except APN .apk. So what do you think i should change or do to make APN widget fit like it should (i removed screen indicator and everything is the same)...

    About "First, make sure that you have the "Auto Stretch" setting checked under "UI Settings", "Screen Preferences", "Advanced Settings." I have Auto stretch selected but its under "Screen preferences/Desktop layout"and i dont have "Advanced settings". Is this cus i have free version?
     
  21. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    Unless you have an apk for Gmail version 2.3.4.1 or earlier, I think you're stuck.

    If I recall, the APN toggle widget doesn't render actual size. For instance, the original one for the old 4x5 layout, I have to make the 110x125 image inside of a 118x135 blank png, essentially putting a transparent border around the image. Try making the canvas 118x133 and putting the 110x123 image centered inside of it.

    Figure so. So long as you have it set, though... you're good.

    Again, hope this helps.
     
  22. albo23

    albo23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    How do I get rid of the dock on LauncherPro and put widgets there?
     
  23. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    I've tried a lot of launchers, and ADW.Launcher / ADWLauncher EX is the only launcher that lets you hide or disable the dock.
     
  24. zormanze

    zormanze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    I tried doing a 110x123px icon in 118x133px transparent background and it works, the widget is the right size now.

    But there is anoother problem: The APN widget DOESN'T function. It does not switch off/on data connection. Any idea why?

    Here are my 2 desktops that i've finished so far:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I am using ADWLauncher EX and i also have problems with app drawer.
    When i set "Drawer Settings" to "Vertical old" i get app drawer with transparent background:
    [​IMG]

    If someone figures out why my APN widget doesn't function i will be forever grateful!
    Thanks
     
  25. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    Honestly, I don't know. I originally reskinned this widget for someone else who requested and never used it myself for I have no need to turn my data off. I just thought of another idea, however. If you use any other toggle app that lets you add a custom icon (ie. Widgetsoid - free app in market)- you can then use the Overlap Widgets feature to put the toggle on top of a Desktop Visualizer tile widget as the background. This is actually how I do most of my tile widgets these days, among other things.

    Yeah, I actually didn't like some of the standard settings of the ADW update. To change the background, go to [ADW Settings]-> [UI Settings]-> [Drawer Settings]-> [Background Color], pick whatever color you want and change the "Alpha" value at the bottom. (Granted, some menu features, etc. may be different if you're using the free version.)

    Hope this helps!
     
    zormanze likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...