1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android phone connecting to Vonage Wifi Router

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by elbojpb, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. elbojpb

    elbojpb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    My Unimax phone will connect to every wifi router EXCEPT my own, which is a Vonage. I've tried all different combinations of encryption and non-encryption, but the phone will not connect.

    Anyone know if the Vonage routers are incompatible with either Unimax phones or Android OS?
     

    Advertisement

  2. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,830
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,830
    4,076
    708
    Illinois
    Which model Unimax do you have? If it's one of those TracFones running a Walmart-modified, old version of Android those phones get me all twitchy setting up even things like even a basic WiFi connection.
     
  3. elbojpb

    elbojpb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
  4. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,830
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,830
    4,076
    708
    Illinois
    Does your Unimax not even see whatever your home's WiFi network name at all or are able to at least connect to it but it's just a matter of not being able to log in? As far as your phone being able to log into other WiFi networks are they open ones (no password) or secured ones? Have you tried setting your Vonage router, at least temporarily as a test, so your SSID isn't secured. Also, if you've named your home network with various a lot of spaces and non-standard characters maybe try simplifying it. Another thing to at least try is going into your Vonage settings, turn off DHCP and assigning your Unimax it's own IP address.

    http://www.cnet.com/products/unimax-u671c-3g-4-gb-android-smartphone/specs/
     
  5. elbojpb

    elbojpb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    The phone can "see" the router, tries to connect, but never does. I've tried removing the security (unsuccessfully) but the name does have a space. I'll try removing that and setting a static IP. Thanks for the tips!
     
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,830
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,830
    4,076
    708
    Illinois

Share This Page

Loading...