• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Android Phone with $15 Verizon Data Plan

BrennanU

Nov 25, 2010
Hello all, I am a Verizon user in the market for a new phone. Currently I have an LG Chocolate 2 with an iPod touch for my mobile internet needs. I am currently a college student who lives on campus and have wifi almost everwhere I am. I have always been hesitant of getting a smartphone because of the $30 data plan, because I already have access to free data.

My Chocolate seems to be acting up, so I am in the market for a new phone. I have looked at the very limited selection of feature phones and none of them really appeal to me. I see that Verizon now has a $15 plan which I would strongly consider with an Android phone. In addition, I see that the price of Android phones are dropping. Best Buy even has an HTC Droid Incredible for free this weekend.

I was talking with a Verizon rep who warned that the $15 data plan will probably not be enough, with a droid. I mentioned that I have campus wifi and she still didn't seem sure. The campus wifi seems to work pretty well with my iPod, although it seems to disconnect periodically, and require a moment or two to reconnect.

What are everyone's thoughts? Am I going to run into problems with this setup? I guess my biggest concern is that the phone will experience these disconnects and utilize large amounts of data via 3G without my knowledge.

Thanks,
Brennan