1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android questions...

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by alank2, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. alank2

    alank2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I've been needing to get into Android developer for my boss and I've got the development environment setup so far.

    I didn't have an actual development device however until my wife found me a virgin mobile LG optimus slider for $54 on clearance at Target yesterday. I want to use this device as a development device where I can run applications from my PC and have a few questions:

    #1 - I don't want to sign up with virgin mobile for the phone part of it - will this limit what I can do on the phone? Will it connect via wifi or something to a wireless network?

    #2 - Will this work for my purposes, just developing/running/testing code?

    #3 - Will I need to root it?

    Thanks,

    Alan
     

    Advertisement

  2. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Welcome alank2, to the AF community :)

    #1 You will not be able to make phone calls, as your phone will not have a phone number., you will most definitely be able to connect to wifi and such.

    #2 From my knowledge of setting up a phone for dev use, which isn't very much, but I am pretty positive you could use it for Dev work.

    #3 You might want to root just to have it rooted, I am not positive on this though.


    Again welcome to the forums, if you have any more questions feel free to ask :D
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    32,670
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,670
    27,270
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Unless your project needs to be able to make or receive phone calls, you shouldn't have any problems without a VM account.
     
  4. alank2

    alank2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Thanks guys, I got it powered up and on the wifi so all is working well so far.

    Alan
     

Share This Page

Loading...