1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android RC30 Updates Your G1

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by phandroid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. phandroid

    phandroid Admin News Bot
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,396
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008

    Apr 12, 2008
    10,396
    382
    663
    In the very early morning, it appears AndroidForum members first reported their G1’s being updated with the newest Android Over-The-Air update. It patches the apparent “jailbreaking” bypass that the current OS allows which allowed l33t h4×0rz to tap directly into the Android OS at the root level. While it took most folks a long and varied [...]

    More...
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnkzin

    johnkzin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

    Sep 28, 2008
    223
    3
    56
    Yeah. F'n annoying. Why do they need to keep us from having root on an open platform?

    I can see "not wanting remote exploits" being a reason to close this hole, but that would be entirely different language than they're giving. And, if it was just for remote exploits, they'd find some way to let the device owner retain that access to the device.
     
  3. ghoonk

    ghoonk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Nov 7, 2008
    18
    0
    15
    Because having root access means that other people aside from yourself can also gain root access to the data and files on your G1.

    I just got back from a friend's place where I showed him the link of how the G1 could be jailbroken and he proved this to me by letting me hook up on his wireless network, sniffing out some data (which he refused to reveal) and then showing me the files on my phone over Telnet. And downloaded a couple of my MP3s and pictures just to prove to me that it could be done by SOMEONE ELSE.

    It wasn't funny.
     
  4. johnkzin

    johnkzin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

    Sep 28, 2008
    223
    3
    56
    In other words... exactly what I said about "remote exploits". Leaving the rest of my 2nd paragraph as a valid statement.
     
  5. mguthrie

    mguthrie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

    Oct 29, 2008
    11
    0
    15
    W00t I just got the update but my phone is on ATT. Its the first time I've got an update over the air since I've got it unlocked I didn't think it was possible but its cool that it is.
     
  6. mish147

    mish147 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    80
    1
    16
    How come I have never received an uodate yet
     
  7. Manacit

    Manacit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    Oct 27, 2008
    76
    0
    15
    Woke up this morning and it told me I had an update :) It's installing now
     
  8. HTC

    HTC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #388
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008

    Oct 25, 2008
    284
    7
    56
    yea.. i have RC19 still.. o.o whats going on. I have the G1 internet plan too.. i'm 100% legit!
     
  9. lkosova

    lkosova Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008

    Oct 31, 2008
    146
    1
    36
    My wife got hers and I did not get mine. Can't figure that one out???

    Larry
     
  10. Zinzi

    Zinzi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Nov 7, 2008
    46
    0
    35
    Freelance Photographer/Student/Model.
    Plymouth, Devon. UK.
    I got my phone a few days ago and haven't yet received any updates. I have TC5-RC7 and I'm in the UK. This is all very confusing as everyone else to be on a much higher RC number but TC4. Heh :/
     
  11. scho

    scho Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Nov 7, 2008
    12
    0
    15
    Berkshire, UK
    Same here mate, nobody has been able to tell me yet what the difference is..... I have emailed T-Mobile but no reply yet.
     
  12. Scamp

    Scamp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    38
    0
    15
    Appently, getting root access (pre RC30) was not all that hard. In fact it was a bit like Dorthy in Oz. You had it all the time......

     
  13. Zinzi

    Zinzi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Nov 7, 2008
    46
    0
    35
    Freelance Photographer/Student/Model.
    Plymouth, Devon. UK.
    It's incredibly annoying. Do keep us posted if you find out!
     
  14. lkosova

    lkosova Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008

    Oct 31, 2008
    146
    1
    36
    After posting I got my update!!!!!

    Would like to see updates with major enhancements though and would think this will happen in the future.

    Kinda cool though and a big plus over Iphone that they can do this at all.

    Larry
     
  15. mikeeh

    mikeeh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    139
    3
    56
    Bay Area Cali
    I got my RC30 earlier this morning (5 am). I am in Cali.
     
  16. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008

    Oct 12, 2008
    99
    1
    16
    Someone called me at midnight last night, someone I don't know so I just hung up on them and noticed a update was available.

    Hopefully future updates will be quick.
     
  17. Dancesonfire

    Dancesonfire Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008

    Nov 6, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    I just got my RC30 update. It was a very quick install.
     
  18. trancemode

    trancemode Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    just got new update. heard they blocked the hack ROOT and stuff to the g1

    i also did hear it increase battery life + fix some minor bugs.
     
  19. Windchill

    Windchill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    110
    5
    56
    While on my way to work this morning, my update rolled in. Took all of 30 seconds to do. All I had to do was click ok and the phone did the rest. I am now sporting RC30. Still no fix for the pop email problem though.
     
  20. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    You might as well do it manually for Rc29..do a search for the thread, its simple. I bet youll get RC 30 within a day of upgrading.
     
  21. krstofer

    krstofer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    61
    0
    35
    I did mine manually. I've never recieved an update.

    I think the next major release is going to be the one that provides the virtual keyboard. We will see.
     
  22. claudio.guajardo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Mikeey, yout G1 is Unlock? if I update I will lost my unlock?
    Thaks,

    Claudio From Chile.
     
  23. DetectiveZito

    DetectiveZito Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    I think I'm still running 28... but just want to be sure. Where do I check the firmware in the system? I've had the phone for two weeks and haven't received any updates. I'm in Los Angeles... and think that others in my area have received them... any help? can I d/l manually?

    thanks!
     
  24. atek3

    atek3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    55
    0
    15
    just got mine... quick and easy.
     
  25. Miss Spicy McHaggis

    Miss Spicy McHaggis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008

    Oct 22, 2008
    98
    4
    36
    Hospitality
    Chicago
    got mine over the weekend :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...