1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Android SDK Installer Cant find JDK

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by GraemeLeech, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. GraemeLeech

    GraemeLeech Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    9
    0
    15
    Hey Folks, I have a problem with my Android SDK Installer. When I run it to install the SDK it says it can't find the JDK. I have installed JDK, with Glassfish, and have updated the Path Variables to point to it. I am developing with Eclipse Helios, and that can find the JDK. My computer is running Windows 7, 64 Bit OS. Any Ideas how I can get the Android SDK Installer to find the JDK? Much Appreciated !!!
    Graeme.
     

    Advertisement

  2. JamTheMan

    JamTheMan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    When this happens I just download the .zip SDK folder instead of the installer. Then there is usually no whining from the installer not being able to find the JDK in the expected folder...

    Just unZip it wherever you want it on your harddrive, and run the SDKManager that comes with it. Then install all the API levels you want and make a Virtual Device.
    And then, when you have installed the ADT in Eclipse, just setup the Android settings to point to the folder where you previously unZipped the SDK...

    HF :)
     
  3. SoftWyer

    SoftWyer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    It's probably looking for an environment variable like JAVA_HOME, or more likely JDK_HOME. Try setting these environment variables to point to the location of the JDK.
     
  4. GraemeLeech

    GraemeLeech Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    9
    0
    15
    Thanks guys, got it working, I downloaded the .ZIP file and installed it form there instead, Thanks again!
     
  5. JamTheMan

    JamTheMan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    You're very welcome ;-)
     
  6. Android Pre-K

    Android Pre-K Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    14
    6
    16
    How-To Instructor
    Undisclosed Location
    I know its been solved already, but if you use the exe to install the android sdk manager when you get to the screen that says "cant find java sdk" (or something like that) all you have to do is press back, then press next and then it will find it.
     
  7. riches2rags

    riches2rags Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    7
    0
    15
    Male
    Entrepreneur, big pimpin spendin g's
    San Jose, CA
    Right on! In the book of right on, you were right on. To amplify, I unpacked the sdk installer program (.exe) with Universal Extractor. I got the file "SDK Manager.exe" and three sub-directories: $_OUTDIR, $COMMONFILES, and $PLUGINSDIR. After running the SDK Manager (unsuccessfully) I realized that it was looking for the "tools" directory inside $_OUTDIR. I copied the tools folder up to the same level as $_OUTDIR and ran the SDK Manager again. Voila, success! Then I did the Pre-K back one step Samba. Hooray, problem solved as written. Now I'm a happy camper too. Muchas Gracias (many thanks)!!
     
  8. Aureshi Sai Nikhil

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018

    Sep 14, 2018
    1
    0
    15
    I have tried all the methods none of them worked.If you have already installed jdk-10 or any other then uninstall it and install jdk-8. If you created the path variables then immediately remove the 'JAVA_HOME' variable and also remove the java path from 'PATH' variable. Then install the jdk-8, and try to install sdk manager it works perfectly.
     
  9. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,042
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,042
    4,235
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    You can still have & use any java you desire installed, just use the terminal to manually select the java & javac you wish to use via:

    sudo update-alternatives --config java

    sudo update-alternatives --config javac

    I have Java7 (LP5.0-MM6.0), Java8(N7.0-O8.1), & Java9(P-Q), just switch as needed..
     
    #9 bcrichster, Sep 14, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018

Share This Page

Loading...