1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support android settings menu not working as expected

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by archz2, Jun 10, 2016.

  1. archz2

    archz2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #443
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    110
    4
    36
    Today, I installed marshmallow aosp beta 2 on my lenovo a7000 phone. Ever since, my settings menu i.e. the context menu that opens on pressing the context menu button on the phone does not open settings or context menu. It just shows up the recently opened application windows. How to fix it?

    My phone has three buttons below the screen

    settings button - i.e. the context menu
    home button
    back button
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,005
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,005
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    Because marshmallow doesn't have a settings button. The buttons on Marshmallow are recent apps, home and back. It has been this way since Lollipop. The ROM you added just followed this.
     
    archz2 likes this.
  3. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,846
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,846
    1,918
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Apart from on Samsungs where long pressing the recent apps button does give a context/settings menu...
     
  4. archz2

    archz2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #443
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    110
    4
    36
    But what is the alternative for it or any xposed module that bypasses this restriction? I tried gravity box tweaks but they did not change a thing. I found it really hard to open my preferences panel of titnaium backup that are usually accessed by pressing the menu button. I had to hunt really hard for it under "Facing problems" button.
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,005
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,005
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    Have no idea really. Your phone isn't very popular and even Samsung ditched the menu button.
     
    archz2 likes this.
  6. archz2

    archz2 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #443
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    110
    4
    36
    Okay, thanks for the information.
     

Share This Page

Loading...